PDA

View Full Version : Recommend me an ATC Spindle



andy_con
21-07-2016, 01:53 PM
id love to replace the spindle on my machine with a faster one. my machine currently has an atc so its needs to be an atc spindle.

anyone recommend any atc spindles? only needs to be like 2-3kw, nothing silly.

as with everything in life it comes down to cost, but id like some suggestions so I can find out some costs

komatias
21-07-2016, 04:32 PM
Is this for a router? What taper type you running?

andy_con
21-07-2016, 04:40 PM
Mill that's why I posted in the mill section not router ��

I'll buy new tooling if I have to

komatias
22-07-2016, 03:27 PM
Sorry Andy, didn't see the whole breadcrumb line on my screen.

Remind us, what machine is this for? The Denford?

andy_con
22-07-2016, 05:53 PM
it is for my denford triac.

I have two options as I see it.

current setup on the triac is servo motor drives atc spindle via a belt. now looking at the specs of belts I could put one of those Chinese 24k spindles in and replace just the servo motor, but the belt would be right on its limits of speed.

or other option would be to get an expensive atc spindle all in one and replace the whole lot.
current tooling is bt35, but im never going to find a bt35 spindle so new tooling will be required.

Ger21
24-07-2016, 04:19 PM
The typically 24,000 rpm chinese spindles are not suitable for use on a mill, and won't last long.

AliExpress has a lot of BT30 ATC spindles.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/ATC-spindle-BT30-milling-spindle-cnc-router-spindle-motor-with-synchronous-belt-for-BT30-spring-drawbar/32397698428.html?spm=2114.01010208.3.2.K7Q0Ve&ws_ab_test=searchweb201556_10,searchweb201602_1_10 057_10056_10055_10049_10059_10058_10017_405_404_10 6_10040_105_104_10060_103_102,searchweb201603_7&btsid=490528e6-4b60-46c8-8b6d-99c3fa989e32

m_c
24-07-2016, 07:25 PM
One thing I find odd about all those ATC cartridges, is I've never seen any threads where people have actually used one. I've certainly never seen anybody complaining about them anywhere, so I'd assume they must do their job without any issues.

Another option to consider, is there a few Taiwanese spindle manufacturers who do built-in (aka with motor built in) spindles, however I've got no idea on pricing.
POSA, and Royal Spindles are two that I can remember, but I'm sure there are others.

andy_con
26-07-2016, 01:20 PM
due to my setup I would hope a Chinese spindle would last long.

it wouldn't be directly cutting, it would be connected via a belt to the atc spindle which does the cutting. the Chinese motor would be driving the spindle


The typically 24,000 rpm chinese spindles are not suitable for use on a mill, and won't last long.

AliExpress has a lot of BT30 ATC spindles.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/ATC-spindle-BT30-milling-spindle-cnc-router-spindle-motor-with-synchronous-belt-for-BT30-spring-drawbar/32397698428.html?spm=2114.01010208.3.2.K7Q0Ve&ws_ab_test=searchweb201556_10,searchweb201602_1_10 057_10056_10055_10049_10059_10058_10017_405_404_10 6_10040_105_104_10060_103_102,searchweb201603_7&btsid=490528e6-4b60-46c8-8b6d-99c3fa989e32

Boyan Silyavski
26-07-2016, 06:43 PM
due to my setup I would hope a Chinese spindle would last long.

it wouldn't be directly cutting, it would be connected via a belt to the atc spindle which does the cutting. the Chinese motor would be driving the spindle


What belt exactly are you planning to use for that?

andy_con
26-07-2016, 06:46 PM
The one that's already in there doing the same job

What belt exactly are you planning to use for that?

andy_con
26-07-2016, 06:53 PM
Sem servo motor to the rear, driving via a belt the atc spindle at the front

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x202/magicmushrooms1/cnc/DSC_1618_zpsyrk01mdt.jpg

Boyan Silyavski
26-07-2016, 08:30 PM
BUt that servo motor does not spin at 24k rpm. Neither the chinese BT30 spindles will spin very fast. Also these belts setup is not made to spin that fast as you wish. So i don't see how you are going to do that?

I dont know what jobs you are aiming to do, but from my point of view is absurd to change servo motor functionality / rigid tapping, etc./ for high speed.

I think best would be you change to BT30 spindle using your servo motor. Or add faster chinese servomotor. And separately add 3kw spindle for other type of jobs.

andy_con
26-07-2016, 10:00 PM
as I said in my first post (opening post) the belt could operate on a 24k spindle but it would be right on its limits or speed. I'm only going by what the spec of the belt says, if you disagree take it up with the belt maker not me.

the atc spindle bearings recently went and I replaced them with high quality bearings capable of 26k.

the servo motor in the machine cannot do ridid tapping. its only a 1.5hp motor that spins at 4000rpm. it has lots of torque granted, but 4000rpm is mega slow.


BUt that servo motor does not spin at 24k rpm. Neither the chinese BT30 spindles will spin very fast. Also these belts setup is not made to spin that fast as you wish. So i don't see how you are going to do that?

I dont know what jobs you are aiming to do, but from my point of view is absurd to change servo motor functionality / rigid tapping, etc./ for high speed.

I think best would be you change to BT30 spindle using your servo motor. Or add faster chinese servomotor. And separately add 3kw spindle for other type of jobs.

Boyan Silyavski
26-07-2016, 10:48 PM
I am not arguing with you, but it's one thing that a belt could spin at 24k and totally different thing if that range is in its recommended range. Same with spindle bearings. If you dig deeper you will see that a chinese 24rpm 3kw spindle for example has bearings that could spin at ~80k rpm each, but this and that, and at the end the maximum speed is 24k rpm.

I was asking because i have been thinking of speed reducing attachment to 24k rpm spindle and have not come up with a suitable belt. And mind me, i have read a couple of times the Gates belt manual

JAZZCNC
26-07-2016, 11:40 PM
its only a 1.5hp motor that spins at 4000rpm. it has lots of torque granted, but 4000rpm is mega slow.

Mega Slow for doing what.? . . . . It's Milling machine not router. 4K is acceptable for Milling machine this size and strength.
If you have excess torque then with little ratio/belt jiggery pokery could soon increase that if required.

If your wanting speed to Cut aluminium then for the price of decent ATC spindle which fits this machine correctly and do it justice money would go long way towards building nice strong Fixed gantry machine with more cutting area that will chomp Ali equal to this mill.