PDA

View Full Version : need some help.



terry1956
20-08-2016, 04:12 PM
hi. can anyone be kind enough to write a few lines of g code for mach 3 so I can test my machine. its an MF70 mini mill so something that can be machined out of 4mm plastic sheet would be good. I just want to see the machine cutting something.
please email me direct.

thanks. terry

cropwell
20-08-2016, 05:04 PM
Best not to put your email address on the forum. Have emailed you.

terry1956
20-08-2016, 06:09 PM
Any small shape would do a oval around 40mmx10mm 3mm deep would be good

needleworks
20-08-2016, 07:19 PM
did you get sorted out with this ?

terry1956
29-08-2016, 03:40 PM
hi. ok this is what I am getting. I have set the home position and machine G54 homing position to zero. the home position is with the machine bed 70 percent into the -x travel and the y at mid point of its travel. the z homing position is just at the start of its downward travel. the machine position G54 is with the x at 50 percent into its travel so at midpoint and the y axis the same and the z just in contact with the work surface. I am not sure if this is correct or if there is a better g54 position to use.
ok I made a drawing in solidworks, exported it into artcam and this is the program it made.

Tool No1.
GO17 G21 G49 G80 G90 G91.1
GO25.0000
M3 S15000
GO X-26.8618 Y-1.9300 Z5.0000
G1 Z-0.5000 F240
G1 X-27.6058 Y-1.9240 F600
YO .8628
X26.0964 Y1.3811
Y-2.3522
X-26.8618 Y-1.9300
GO Z5.0000
GO XO.0000 YO.0000
GO Z5.0000
GO XO.0000 YO.0000
M5
M30.

this program is just a test for a .5mm deep slot. what worries me is that there looks like there is know start position. ie g54 position.
I tried it on the mill a small MF70 and the tooling went all over the place.
what am I doing wrong ???????????

needleworks
29-08-2016, 04:36 PM
To get back to your original request, I drew a small oval given the sizes you specified
Any small shape would do a oval around 40mmx10mm 3mm deep would be good
The dxf was then put into Cambam and this is the resulting code :-

0,0 would be set right in the centre of the oval, and Z0 would be the top of your part, it is set to go down at .5 depth of cut, so for a total depth of 3mm, should go around 6 times.
Give it a try and see if it works?

19103

Clive S
29-08-2016, 06:19 PM
The dxf was then put into Cambam and this is the resulting code :-It might be better to attach the file rather than post the code as you can see it takes a lot of space

Clive S
29-08-2016, 06:25 PM
Terry It is going all over the place because you have not specified G54 at the top of the code.
GO17 G21 G49 G54 G80 G90 G91.1

needleworks
29-08-2016, 07:00 PM
It might be better to attach the file rather than post the code as you can see it takes a lot of space

Doh !!! never thought about that, sorted now:adoration:

Clive S
29-08-2016, 07:10 PM
Doh !!! never thought about that, sorted now:adoration:It just make the forum easier to read

JAZZCNC
29-08-2016, 11:50 PM
Terry think you miss understand what G54 does. All it does is specify the Work offset in relation to Absolute Machine Zero ie Machine home.

The fact it's not in the code isn't the reason going all over the place. Mach will default to G54 so unless you've changed it ie: with G55. G56 etc then won't make any difference if not in the Code.

Also the code is messed up in few places and looks like your using the letter O rather than Zero in places.

Second line GO25.0000 is invalid because doesn't state axis.

Also G0 and G1 commands are Modal so don't need to be repeated unless changed. ie:
g0 x10
y10
x50
G1 y60 F500
x40
y30
x68 y78

When you imported into Artcam did you use Mach3 Post.?