PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: New member, Lagun Mill

Smokie555
27-09-2016, 11:31 PM
Hi guys, great forum. I’ve done a bit of 3D printing and drawing but I’m new to CNC. I have been playing with Mach 3 demo for a while and now plan to convert my LAGUN FU-1 LA Mill to CNC using one of those £350 eBay kits with Nema 34 1600oz steppers. My machine has really good tight beds but some backlash on the lead screws with 0.008” on the X , 0.0001” Y and 0.004” on the Z. I can adjust the X down to 0.005” but with a noticeable stiffening on the hand wheel. Being a knee mill the Z moves the entire bed and therefore takes 9.5 lbs feet torque to get moving up but the X & Y are below 1 lb ft to start moving, so can I use say Nema 23’s 1200 on the X&Y with a 34 on the Z?

Can you mix motors sizes on one break out board with different drivers and power supplies?

Has anyone converted a Lagun machine?

So many questions, am a wasting my time with these eBay jobs? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/151715896714?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

It’s for hobby use only and my main interest is motorbike parts etc so it only gets infrequent light use.

Robin Hewitt
28-09-2016, 11:10 AM
Stepper motors should be chosen by looking at graphs showing torque against speed. You can mix and match. They are all 200 steps/rev which suits 2.3" a lot more than it suits 3.4". The stepper market is dedicated to American's who believe more is better and need to be told what to do and what to buy because that is how they were taught in school. Why do you want to power the bed vertically when you can power the quill? You can put a screw along side it. Fix that backlash first or it haunt you.

komatias
28-09-2016, 04:22 PM
The lagun is a universal mill right?

You would be better served with servos and good quality ballscrews. Way too much weight to push around and up/down.

Not what I would call an easy conversion by any standard.

Smokie555
28-09-2016, 05:59 PM