PDA

View Full Version : BUILD LOG: My 2nd version of a 2.5D CNC milling machine

tribbles
27-07-2009, 10:49 PM
I've now started the second version of my 2.5D CNC milling machine (many thanks to Gary's advice on parts) - I've got 10 days to build it (holiday from work). The basics are designed, but there's a lot of flexible design involved (i.e. "make it up as I go along" :) ).

I'll be (hopefully) updating my website every evening with the activities of the day.

http://www.tribbeck.com/steel/stlcutter2/

bikepete
28-07-2009, 04:28 PM
As a newbie I hesitate to weigh in but are you sure one block either side of the router on the Z will be sufficient? Looks like a fairly heavy unit and four blocks total would much better resist the torque of its weight hanging out the front, let aside any cutting forces. If you want to stick with one each side to retain travel then maybe the double-length ones would be a good idea e.g. these (http://www.worldofcnc.com/products.asp?recnumber=25)?

tribbles
28-07-2009, 07:06 PM
Thanks for the comments - it was something I considered, and I still may - I've arranged the ball screw nut quite a bit lower than the two blocks, so that adds some stability. There's some space below which can take another pair of blocks if I find there's some play.

Lee Roberts
29-07-2009, 12:10 AM
Nice to see you are using the supported rail for the z-axis Jason, i'v also used the same for my second machine:

pavlo
29-07-2009, 12:13 AM
Why have all that travel on the Z axis? If you are working with the router raised by more than a couple of inches the bottom end of the linear rails will clash with the work piece. I'm a newbie at this and have yet to build my Z axis so maybe I'm wrong, perhaps one of the more experienced guys will give their thoughts?

Lee Roberts
29-07-2009, 01:14 AM
Hi pavlo,