PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Hi, Newbie to CNC

urbansickness
16-11-2016, 10:41 PM
Hi,

Looking into purchasing a CNC router, more used to manual woodwork and routering. I work in the exhibition and sign industry so the work i do is very varied and use a very wide range of materials (softwood, hardwood, mdf, birch ply, acrylic polycarb, dibond, aluminium, corian, himacs)
Looking to purchase a small machine for personnel project use and for occasional use at work. Was looking at the OX cnc and Aspire software, the OX fits my budget but unsure of the Apsire software price. i use autocad for other work so learning similar software shouldnt be a problem

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Andy

JAZZCNC
17-11-2016, 12:35 AM
Was looking at the OX cnc and Aspire software, the OX fits my budget but unsure of the Apsire software price. i use autocad for other work so learning similar software shouldnt be a problem

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Hi and Welcome,

You won't go wrong with Aspire or Vectric products but The Ox isn't something I'd recommend. It's poor design made with weak materials.

You'd be better advised to save up and increase the Machine budget or lower the Software Budget and put the money towards better machine.
No Point having Great software and then poor machine that restricts what can be done or takes for ever to do it.! . . Or worse Still starts breaking down and unreliable.

Unfortunatly the answer to your next question I cannot help with because there are no good alternatives in UK at lower price range.
This is why people Often take on the challenge of DIY Building so they can have good machine with lower budget.

Best advise I can give is don't rush into buying without checking out the whole machine. If your unsure then just ask and we'll take look for you and advise.

Clive S
17-11-2016, 10:39 AM
Hi,