PDA

View Full Version : Spindle being awkward.



MPH100
27-11-2016, 12:56 PM
Hello All
I have spent the last year building my router in my garage have used these forums to keep me on the right track and did not have a problems that I could not find an answer for on here.
But with Christmas looming and family and friends asking for things cut I decided to connect my HY vfd to its 2.2kw motor using the 0-10v out on my bob.
The issue I have is the spindle works fine under manual control from mach3 but when I move any axis in rapid or with a cutting program loaded my spindle slows to a stop it regains speed once these movements have finished, the only time it does not do this is running under reduced jog speed in the software MPG. I hope this is me being stupid and someone can get me up to speed (sorry could not resist the pun).
Mick:witless:

magicniner
27-11-2016, 01:27 PM
Stick a meter across the 0-10V and see what that says?
If you're getting voltage drop then it's the output from your BOB so stick the meter across the power supply to the BOB and see what that's doing.

- Nick

JAZZCNC
27-11-2016, 01:52 PM
Need more info.

Parallel port or Motion controller.?
What spindle speed controller/BOB.?
What terminals have you connected to on VFD.?

Pics always help.!

MPH100
27-11-2016, 02:04 PM
Thanks Nick will do that now and see if thats the issue.
Mick

MPH100
27-11-2016, 02:49 PM
Thanks Dean
I have Ess connected to cheap bob similar/same to the ones Emvio Eng recommend.
This picture shows spindle running 12000rpm 4.14 volts at the vdf connections, so looks to me like the relay is misbehaving ?
Sorry despite trying for half an hour I cannot get pics to upload, if needed will try from my house later.
Mick

MPH100
27-11-2016, 02:53 PM
PS have checked connections FOR-DCM and V1-ACM checked and double checked.
When rapiding around there is no volt drop.
Mick

JAZZCNC
27-11-2016, 03:02 PM
have you set the Pulley ratios.?

MPH100
27-11-2016, 03:19 PM
Dean
Pulley no4 max speed 24k ratio 1
Mick

MPH100
27-11-2016, 03:30 PM
Have set decel quite high and under mdi stops quick it is the same under jog and program.

MPH100
27-11-2016, 03:37 PM
This might help I am getting 23.5v across the FOR connector on the vdf when I press jog.

komatias
28-11-2016, 04:02 PM
This might help I am getting 23.5v across the FOR connector on the vdf when I press jog.

MPH100 if you bought the ESS and BOB from me get in touch and I will do my best to help.

JAZZCNC
28-11-2016, 04:45 PM
Have set decel quite high and under mdi stops quick it is the same under jog and program.

Hey are we talking about the spindle or Motor tuning here.? They should have no affect on each other.

Jog should not affect the spindle in anyway what so ever. Similiar in MDI only commands that should affect Spindle is M3/M4/M5 and S (speed).

Asked before can you post picks or show drawing of exactly how you connected because something is very wrong.

Also Either show how you have Mach3 setup or Zip up your XML file so can take look.

MPH100
28-11-2016, 06:52 PM
Thanks George I got my ESS from you but the bob was from a mate after he had done a upgrade.
It will be my dodgy wiring or a fault on the bob.
Mick

MPH100
28-11-2016, 08:02 PM
197301973019731
I have tried to upload xml file but keeps failing.
I have done some more checking and the relay on the bob switches when any of the jog buttons is pressed I cannot work out how the relay is controlled.
Thanks for your reply

cropwell
29-11-2016, 01:25 AM
The Bob needs a 5v connection from the PC. There are terminals to take the PC side of the power and a USB connector also. If you do not connect up 5v from the PC the opto couplers will not work properly.

I can't see that connection on your photos.

Here's a link to the Bob manual in my dropbox https://www.dropbox.com/s/v1fha65o2p2kr7p/5axis_breakout_board-EN.pdf?dl=0 Just in case you haven't got the document.

Cheers !

Rob

Boyan Silyavski
29-11-2016, 12:00 PM
I had similar problems/ still have/ due to bad earth link between my equipment, whatever that means. A direct wire that connects the VFD drive Earth to the PSU Earth that powers the BOB solved problem. Have seen reports that same wire to PC Earth/PC body/ could cure the problem also.

Switch spindle on, set to 16000rpm and do try that.

MPH100
29-11-2016, 07:33 PM
Thanks Boyan will give that a try at the weekend.

MPH100
03-12-2016, 11:51 AM
Well have spent Saturday morning trying various things no joy so before I get magic smoke time to cut something will save up for a CSMIO/IP-M me thinks.

Clive S
03-12-2016, 01:15 PM
Well have spent Saturday morning trying various things no joy so before I get magic smoke time to cut something will save up for a CSMIO/IP-M me thinks.You need to upload your xml file etc like Jazzcnc has asked. Have you tried to upload via the advanced option.

cropwell
03-12-2016, 01:19 PM
Please reassure me that you have the PC side of the BoB connected to ground and 5v from the computer (using the USB cable or the teminals bottom left in your photos)

Cheers,

Rob

MPH100
03-12-2016, 04:22 PM
1978319783 Hope this worked

MPH100
03-12-2016, 04:35 PM
I have checked the connections and added an extra ground still to no better, the relay switches on/off when feed is engaged manual or program dont know what is controlling it :ambivalence:

MPH100
03-12-2016, 04:36 PM
Good to see I can nearly get that right.
:glee:

cropwell
03-12-2016, 05:10 PM
I have checked the connections and added an extra ground still to no better, the relay switches on/off when feed is engaged manual or program dont know what is controlling it :ambivalence: What about the 5v from the computer !!!

MPH100
03-12-2016, 05:19 PM
I have 5v power supply feeding Ess and bob keep checking voltage seems fine

cropwell
03-12-2016, 05:52 PM
I have 5v power supply feeding Ess and bob keep checking voltage seems fine So I presume the photos you uploaded of the BoB are not showing the current state of the connections and there is 5v and ground from the computer connected to the USB socket or the PC 5v power terminals in the bottom left hand corner. - Rob

MPH100
03-12-2016, 06:12 PM
Rob
Back in the house now was to cold but will post updated pics tomorrow I think everything is as you say.
Thanks Mick