PDA

View Full Version : Controlling 6 stepper motors and 2 spindles on a budget

freddi
14-12-2016, 04:06 PM
We are group of cnc hobbyists and we were wandering what the best and cheapest way is to control 6 stepper motors that will going going at two different speeds. 4 at one speed and 2 at another.

We want to create a double sided multi functional cnc system. 2 steppers on x, 2 steppers on y and 2 steppers on z. Top and bottom for each axes. We also need to figure out a way to adapt spindle control into all of this. There will be two spindles in the z axis as well. It is part of a uni design project as I am a student.

We are considering using an arduino uno with i/C expanders and considered arduino cnc shields and rapberry pi cnc hat boards.

Further from this, as we lack experience in this area, can someone point us in the right direction in terms of generating g code to control the 6 steppers and 2 spindles. If possible, we want all of this to be under one motion controller.

JAZZCNC
14-12-2016, 08:49 PM
Pokeys 57Cnc will do everything you need. Comes with 8 axis and 4 Analog 0-10V for controlling Spindle speed. Got lots of I/O that can be programmed to work in pretty much any way you need.

USB and Ethernet connection.

https://www.poscope.com/product/pokeys57cnc/

To help with G-code will need more information to what your trying to achieve exactly. If you don't want to post this publicly then feel free to contact me via PM and anything told to me will stay strictly between us.

Doddy
14-12-2016, 11:38 PM