PDA

View Full Version : Bob for spindle control



Duffman
28-12-2016, 11:19 PM
Bit of help needed
I'm able to turn my spindle on and off from Mach but was wondering how to control the spindle speed that's the bob I'm using
20117

cropwell
29-12-2016, 12:04 AM
That BoB does not appear to have the 0-10v output needed to control speed. So the answer is probably - buy a different BoB.
Like this one http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5-Axis-CNC-Breakout-Board-Adapter-Stepper-Motor-Driver-Mach3-USB-Cable-Tools-/252482779825?hash=item3ac9257ab1:g:Gg8AAOSwbsBXnbn v

John S
29-12-2016, 12:33 AM
The BoB the OP shows doesn't do that job, in fact they are crap.
The one Cropwell has linked to does the job far better, used loads of these and if you shop around you can get them as cheap as this.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/302090338358

Duffman
29-12-2016, 12:47 AM
Ok

So I guess it's all wired up the same. Where does the speed control outlet be wired to after the bob

20121

John S
29-12-2016, 01:24 AM
Depends on what spindle motor you have.
If it's the high speed water cooled Chinese ones then it's to the VFD. If it's something like a Kress then you need a variable speed power supply

cropwell
29-12-2016, 02:16 AM
If it's something like a Kress then you need a variable speed power supply
If you want proper speed control from a Kress, you have to fit something with speed feedback like 'SuperPID' http://www.vhipe.com/product-private/SuperPID-Home.htm
I have got one sitting in a drawer, one day I might be arsed to fit it. Trouble is you have to hack out the original onboard speed control which means you have then dedicated it to the SuperPID, and I aint got time fer that malarky !

Rob

Duffman
29-12-2016, 09:14 AM
I have a air cooled spindle with a vfd so I connect to it then. I will have a look today at the vfd and see if it is self explanatory as to where the wires go thanks for the help so far

Jonathan
29-12-2016, 01:10 PM
The BoB the OP shows doesn't do that job, in fact they are crap.
The one Cropwell has linked to does the job far better, used loads of these and if you shop around you can get them as cheap as this.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/302090338358

Agreed - if spending more than 5 on a breakout board then you're probably doing something wrong.

cropwell
29-12-2016, 02:14 PM
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1pcs-MACH3-Engraving-machine-5-Axis-CNC-Breakout-Board-With-Optical-Coupler-For-Stepper-Motor-Driver/32779488657.html?spm=2114.01010208.3.179.tXWrHt&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_2_10065_10 068_10000009_10084_10083_10080_10082_10081_10060_1 0061_10062_10056_10055_503_10054_10059_10099_10078 _501_10079_427_426_10103_10073_10102_10096_10052_1 0050_10107_10051_10106,searchweb201603_3,afswitch_ 2&btsid=2e3c0e02-2b46-4dfc-b7ce-77194d844fe1 Best price I have found