PDA

View Full Version : Hi looking to change 3 phase motor for a 240v, any help much appreciated



suesi34e
14-01-2017, 07:11 PM
2037320356203572035920358

Hello Guys,

I am wanting to get my 3 phase planer working on single phase electric.

1. As far as I know a there are 3 ways introducing a capacitor to the parent motor
2. A 3 phase converter static, rotary or digital
3. Change the motor for a 240v motor (I was thinking a 3HP or 4HP but have no idea really)

I think I prefer the last option but am unsure what is best.

I could mount a new motor but I would be lost on what motor I would need to buy, from where, and how to wire it all up etc

If one or two of you guys can help it would be fantastic

I want to be building my CNC still but nowhere near ready to start still saving up and get other jobs done before I start! As you will see the main motor the one with pulley drive the second via a chain

Many thanks

Steve

magicniner
14-01-2017, 07:24 PM
It's a dual voltage motor so simply wire it Delta (240v on the motor plate) and use a 240v VFD.
Job done ;-)

- Nick

suesi34e
14-01-2017, 07:29 PM
Wow Nick, that way a quick relply tar very much.

I can see how I would wire it in delta (i think by watching videos) but I have know idea what a VFD does or what one I would need. Wire a plug is a taxing one for me - not quite but you get my drift!!!
Many thanks
Steve

Neale
14-01-2017, 07:51 PM
VFD takes (in this case) 240V single-phase in and produces 240V 3-phase output. As Nick says, you are lucky to have a dual-voltage motor, so change connections to delta, buy a "cheap" VFD (maybe 150 new?) and plug in and go. It's a variable-frequency drive, but in this case you'll set it for 50 Hz output, fixed.

suesi34e
14-01-2017, 07:58 PM
Cheers very much Neale. I understand what your saying you explain it well. I guess I got the wrong end of the stick before beacuse I got in contact with a firm in Notingham and I asked about Jaguar VFD but each one I enquired about they seemed to say it was no good! I will consider myself luck be really pleased if I can buy something for anything like 150
Many thanks Steve

Clive S
14-01-2017, 08:04 PM
The best bit of advise I can give you if you are not happy with the high voltages involved is ask an electrician to wire it up for you otherwise it could become very costly

magicniner
14-01-2017, 08:14 PM
Wiring is easy, LNG from your three pin plug into the VFD and T1, T2, T3 and Earth from VDF to motor, swap any two phase wires to the motor to reverse direction and get forward an reverse how you like it.
If you go VFD try to buy one that has decent documentation, it makes a massive difference when you're getting something working,

- Nick

suesi34e
14-01-2017, 08:27 PM
Hi Nick thank you I will take a look and see if I can find one that suits my motor. Good explaining of an idea of how to wire up.
If any of you guys know of one that would best suit my motor and heads up on it, link or model number would be grand. I will try and find one that comes with good documentation and with a bit of luck after sales care! Many thanks Steve

suesi34e
14-01-2017, 08:29 PM
Hi Clive, I am the cautious type so I will get someone to wire it up that knows a lot more than me otherwise I could blow the whole lot sky high! Many thanks Steve

Clive S
14-01-2017, 08:46 PM
You could start by speaking to these people http://www.drivesdirect.co.uk/ and tell them you motor size and what it is being used for.

m_c
14-01-2017, 08:50 PM
I take it nobody has noticed the dual low speed motor (for the feed?) makes no mention of voltage?
And I'd guess it will be designed for 380V only.

magicniner
14-01-2017, 08:57 PM
I take it nobody has noticed the dual low speed motor (for the feed?) makes no mention of voltage?
And I'd guess it will be designed for 380V only.

I just read the motor plate which states Delta 240 Star 415 on the main plate

suesi34e
14-01-2017, 08:57 PM
Hi m_c
Thank you for your reply

Yes, you are spot on the motor you refer to is for the feed and I like you bet is it 380V is that a spanner in the works! I thought I was getting off light!

Many thanks

Steve

magicniner
14-01-2017, 08:59 PM
And it's not just a motor, it's a gear motor so no easy swapouts :-(

Clive S
14-01-2017, 09:59 PM
I had spotted the other motor but with the correct vfd it could power both, that is why I suggested him to contact the company and speak with them I have answered sues134e in the past and realised he was not hot on electrics. Np disrespect to him.

Neale
15-01-2017, 10:18 AM
Might be worth having a look under the plate over the connections on geared motor to see if delta/star is possible. While it doesn't say it's dual-voltage, it doesn't appear to say that is single-voltage either. Can you post a pic?

suesi34e
15-01-2017, 12:22 PM
Hi Neale going to get a photo a little later mate with a bit of luck just have to move the machine to get in the gap to take a picture. That was a good idea we will see what the picture brings about! many thanks Steve

suesi34e
15-01-2017, 05:24 PM
Hi Neale and you guys that have helped and thanks for that. Here after a lot of swearing, poor photos and ripped shirt we have a photo of the plate from the geared motor I had to take it off, it was in a pig of a position!
20374

m_c
15-01-2017, 08:39 PM
As I suspected, it's a dual speed motor, which are usually only designed for a single voltage.
IIRC it'll have 9 wires in the terminal box, which depending on how they're connected, set the speed.
Don't mistake the number of wires as being a way of changing the voltage like a standard 3 phase motor.

suesi34e
15-01-2017, 08:50 PM
Well m_c thank you for your reply and the info. I will not get to the wires until I get the machines off the deck or stripped down. I take the caution you say on board but it must be I guess why the firm said a VFD was no good. I will contact them again just on the off chance! Many thanks Steve

suesi34e
19-01-2017, 01:00 AM
OK guys

I have an update I am told I need the following
Well the L5-203 will power the first motor and these cost 300+60 for the ON/OFF, REV/FWD and SPEED POD and the second motor will need the D2-401 and these cost 300 and a POD with REV/OFF/FWD and SPEED is 50 if needed,
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/152176133904?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
I have found a link for one of the items

Just wanted to update you guys as you have been good enough to help me here!

Cheers

Steve

Jonathan
19-01-2017, 01:49 PM
You may find it cheaper to get the motor rewound (just google "motor rewinding" for somewhere local) and use a more standard VFD. e.g. one of the common Chinese brand: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-2KW-3HP-VFD-Pid-Control-Speed-AVR-220V-Variable-Frequency-Drive-Inverter-Motor-/152376786225?hash=item237a5d3d31:g:VyUAAOSwUKxYeYV Q

Or something second hand from a good brand (e.g. Siemens, ABB, Parker). Unless you are unlucky, the Chinese one will last a long time as you're running somewhat less that its power rating.

The VFDs which accept 240V and output 415V seem expensive for what they are. It's tempting to copy the idea ... or just use a 415V VFD from a suitable DC supply (sometimes works).