PDA

View Full Version : rs stepper motors

chaz@2b
02-08-2009, 07:49 PM
This is my first time on this forum and i need some help with the rs440-420 stepper motors that i wish to connect up to controller boards that i purchased from RoutoutCNC. these motors come with 6 wires colour coded,brown,brown,yellow,red,blue,white. I need to know which wire is which as i have no paperwork as to there use, incidently, i do have about 65 of these motors so if anyone is interested,maybe we could swap WHY?.here's hoping,chaz@2b

HiltonSteve
02-08-2009, 07:55 PM
Might be stating the obvious here but usually RS supply data sheets for their products.

Had a quick look and found this - http://docs-europe.electrocomponents.com/webdocs/001c/0900766b8001c018.pdf

Any good??

chaz@2b
02-08-2009, 09:25 PM
I'm very thankfull for your reply,however I must warn you of my lack of knowledge in regards to stepper motors...zilch!!! The info does not tell me the colour use i.e direction-step and motor connections,I don't know if I would end up destroying the boards if I use the 'try it anyway'. techique, The diagrams supplied for the controller boards do not state the colour , only.. direction-step-2b,2a-1b,1a so I am at a lost which goes where. My intentions for these motors is to construct a router for helping me in my hobby of aircraft modelling cutting woods of upto 1/4" thick. I will appreciate any help to this end.chaz@2b

HiltonSteve
02-08-2009, 10:19 PM
If you read the datasheet carefully which I attached the link to then you will see it tells you the phase colours and even shows a wiring diagram of how to wire them up.

If you are still not sure then keep asking...

HankMcSpank
03-08-2009, 02:23 PM
What they said, but if you want more meat on the bones, here are the wire colours for your steppers for connecting up to your board...

A White
A- Red

B Blue
B- Yellow