PDA

View Full Version : Suregrave cnc router



terry1956
24-02-2017, 09:14 PM
Hi.anyone out there know anything about the suregrave cnc router.It is the gryphon model.can this be made to run using mach3. Thanks.michael

JAZZCNC
25-02-2017, 12:51 AM
Hi Micheal,
Mach3 could be made to run your house if wanted so yes it can easily run that machine. However first well need to know little more of what makes it tick.?

Can you provide any info you have of whats inside the control box or provide good clear pics of inside so can work out what you have. From that can tell you whats required.

Gary
25-02-2017, 08:29 AM
yes it can be converted to run mach3, i used to sell them the stepper motor/drivers and the DC brushless spindle motors, so converting it to run on mach3 is just like any other conversion.

terry1956
25-02-2017, 09:01 AM
hi Gary, I have asked the seller for more information. would it be a better long term buy then a 6040 router. michael

Gary
25-02-2017, 09:37 AM
depends on what you want to do with it, from memory, suregrave made small machines and were more for engraving so the spindle was small (about 100W or under) the chinese machines while still a bag of crap, may be more robust and more suited to cutting?
suregrave are no more, so i cant find details on this machine, so cant be sure of the model and spec.

JAZZCNC
25-02-2017, 10:16 AM
hi Gary, I have asked the seller for more information. would it be a better long term buy then a 6040 router. michael

There is NO Better with these Chinese machines only trouble long term.!
My advise would be get the suregrave running under mach3 then sell it and buy or build better router if you need to cut rather than engrave.
If they do indeed have drives/motors supplied by gary then chances are at worst case you'll only need Breakout board or best case won't need anything. Just install mach3 and setup it up with correct parameters. Which like I said further down if you provide Pics we can work out what you have and what goes where. This will then give us the parameters you'll need to feed mach3.

terry1956
25-02-2017, 11:02 AM
The suregrave is at a dealer who wants nearly twice the cost of a 1640 .I need the work area of a router to cut .5mm sheet brass for making model locomotives. I have better breakout boards and odds and ends from a sieg sx2 conversion I did. Dont really know of any good hobby cnc routers as the market is full of rebadged Chinese machines or overpriced ex school machines.its all abit of a minefield.i dont want to make a machine as my hobby is making model locomotives.michael

Gary
25-02-2017, 11:18 AM
What is your budget? i have an early prototype of one of our 10060 machines ready to go and working. Way overkill for what you are doing though.
its used because we used to to help make the parts of our machines we sell.

terry1956
25-02-2017, 11:56 AM
Email me your price. terry1956@btinternet.com[/email]. with details of chuck spindle etc and of course price.michael

terry1956
25-02-2017, 05:09 PM
heard nothing re router so still looking

terry1956
28-02-2017, 03:03 PM
Still looking for machine..if anyone who's ego is not more important then helping a customer as a cnc router for sale.please let me know.thanks michael

Jenny
22-05-2017, 05:08 PM
Hi I have 1 if you are still looking

terry1956
22-05-2017, 08:16 PM
hi, what have you got, price etc. pm me

Jenny
24-05-2017, 04:19 PM
It's a sure grave 2516i. We bought it 12 months ago with the intention of setting up a small business . The guy we bought it of showed us it working. However I became very ill and it's been in the workroom ever since. My health has not im proved and hence I am selling it on . It has a computer with it that has the programme sure pro 6. We have manuals and lots of bits that came with it. Looking for a quick sale to get some of the money back that I spent. Hoping to get 1200 . Paid alot more for it.