PDA

View Full Version : Huanyang VFD dl Error



charlieuk
10-05-2017, 06:54 PM
I was just getting my current machine back up and running after being away and I though I would just run it through a air cut to make sure all was ok. I have something very big to cut so was pushing it to it limits and all of a sudden the power went out and the the machine stopped. On restarting I the vfd showed a (DL) error and the spindle did not start. I cant find anything in the manual and not to much on the net but believe it maybe a short.. I have a feeling the earth wire or something as it appears it may have rubbed on the bracket that holds the wire and stops it moving however not 100% sure. not being a electrical type person im not to sure how to go about testing for what's wrong?

charlieuk
10-05-2017, 08:51 PM
preparing for the worst were about is the best place to get a new spindle and vfd from?

also wondering if maybe there is a break in the cable so possibly replace that. I got it from this place originally I think it was 4 core cy cable if I remember right but there are a few to chose from so not to sure. there is a flexable one so maybe that ?

https://www.cse-distributors.co.uk/cable/

magicniner
11-05-2017, 12:07 PM
Disconnect your cable at both ends and measure the resistance between each pair combination to locate a short, if you don't have a cheap multi-meter buy one, you need a meter and it will save you time and money in the long term.
Disconnect the spindle and check the resistance of the spindle windings, they should all read fairly close, if you have one which is significantly lower than the other two readings you have a short in the windings,

- Nick

m_c
12-05-2017, 01:21 AM
If a wire has shorted out, then it's likely blown up something in the power stage of the VFD.

If you do what Nick has suggested, it should show up any fault, however if you have any concerns over the integrity of the cable, replace it to remove any doubt. For the minor cost in relation to a VFD, it's a small cost for piece of mind. And yes, CY cable will be fine.

It's probably worth trying to power up the VFD with nothing connected.
I've just checked the manual I have, and a DL error is an invertor overload error, so if the fault remains the same with nothing connected, I'd guess something has shorted out in the power stage.

charlieuk
12-05-2017, 09:07 AM
I re did the end on the earth wire and tried it again and it still gave the fault. i turned the computer of and gave up, then after reading the above i unplugged the spindle and tested it and no fault! i re connected the spindle and it was back working!

i ran the machine yesterday for over 9hours cutting and all was ok so I'm not sure! I'm going to order a back up spindle and vfd to have on standby and may also replace the cable.

would love to know why it triped the power!

many thanks

Ger21
12-05-2017, 07:37 PM
Maybe a short in the plug??

magicniner
12-05-2017, 08:24 PM
Maybe a short in the plug??

It doesn't take many fine chips to bridge a circuit ;-)

charlieuk
12-05-2017, 08:59 PM
i couldn't see anything there and seeing as I only cut polystyrene with it I would expect that any chippings would do it. I was also only cutting air when it happened.

any way the earth lead could short it out as that the only thing I noticed was a little dodgy.

the only other thing I was doing at the time was flushing the spindle coolant with warm water to flush out all the gunk from being sat for 6mth. ( not next time drain it before I go away)