PDA

View Full Version : epoxy question

driftspin
31-05-2017, 05:14 PM
I have started my cnc build and will start a build log soon.

I am in the steel work fase :-)

For leveling i want to use the epoxy solution.

I have troubles sourcing Westsystem 105 / 209 where i live (NL).

Now i found this epoxy :

https://www.carbonwinkel.nl/nl/attachment.php?id_attachment=812

will it do?

viscosity +/- 1000
hardness 12mpa

12 hr potlife

48hr curing time

price seems nice too

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-A320FL met Tapatalk

njhussey
01-06-2017, 04:07 PM
Looks like it would be ok but I'm saying that with a huge caveat as I've no experience of it. I also used a different epoxy to the West systems one (Reactive Resins SYNTAC EPAFD with the SYNAMIN 200 series hardener) and that was fine.

driftspin
02-06-2017, 07:31 PM
:-) on its way :-)

ba99297
02-06-2017, 08:56 PM
I have passed from the same stage some month ago. I also couldnt have the west system slow hardener here in Greece so i had to deal with another resign.
The only thing i would like to mention is that the data sheet of your epoxy says 15 hours pot life but it doesnt says at what temperature and and what amount of resign.
It is very possible that this resign will do the job, but the data sheet doesnt give me the impression that we are talking about a quality product.

driftspin
02-06-2017, 09:28 PM
oh that is cool "not a quality product" ... my confidence just dropt to the floor :-)

i will report back with result so we all know

any special testing to do after curing?!

ba99297
02-06-2017, 09:37 PM
I wish you good luck with your try. Don’t hurry. Double check the dome

driftspin
07-06-2017, 08:35 PM
Here we go, this is the resin i bought.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170607/57984ec159a8d4a8c863d918825888f6.jpg

Clive S
07-06-2017, 11:45 PM
oh that is cool "not a quality product" ... my confidence just dropt to the floor :-)

i will report back with result so we all know

any special testing to do after curing?!