PDA

View Full Version : Wiring Limit Switches, and can it be done with my control box?



ravihotwok
22-06-2017, 01:14 PM
I have purchased some small limit switches and was wondering how to go about installing/wiring them into my setup. Here are some pics of the insides of my control box
2195921960219612196221963219642196521966
2196721968219692197021971219722197321974

john swift
22-06-2017, 08:11 PM
it looks like it may be possible
but I would need to see more detailed photos of the 3 axis board
21979

John

ravihotwok
22-06-2017, 08:47 PM
it looks like it may be possible
but I would need to see more detailed photos of the 3 axis board
21979

John

Im at the workshop now, will take some more pics for you mate. Bare with me

ravihotwok
22-06-2017, 09:48 PM
219822198321984219852198621987

ravihotwok
22-06-2017, 10:24 PM
Are those pics any good mate?

john swift
22-06-2017, 10:54 PM
yes

this is good enough to see the ground and 3 switch inputs but not know which input is connected to which printer port terminal via opto-isolators

since the 2 pin stop connector in this picture
will be your E-stop
you only have 4 printer port pins to test to find which 3 are for the X Y Z inputs here
21988


John

PS
this looks like it has the various connectors used in your control box

21989

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01DU87NT4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

ravihotwok
22-06-2017, 11:18 PM
well we have been doing some investigation, (my controller is usb not parallel fyi)

I think the axis board is buggered, the x axis works only for a few seconds then stops, but on the screen the marker thingy still moves. I have contacted the ebay seller as to how to resolve this as the etsop button also does nothing at all to either the x,y,z axis the spindle or the software.

Im thinking of buying a planet cnc mk3/4 board? but seems a bit extreme considering this is a brand new machine

john swift
22-06-2017, 11:46 PM
from this view your control box has a printer port connector
21990

other pictures of the inside don't show enough detail to see how the printer port connector is or is not connected to the stepper driver IC's

to be controlled by the USB port there must be a motion controller of some sort hidden under the PCB - possibly a copy of a a planet cnc board

just in case you send the box back for exchange
It will be better not to disassemble it any further

John

ravihotwok
23-06-2017, 12:23 AM
i agree, I have put the lid back on it. From the reasrch I have done other people who have bought the same machine have tried to use the parallel port with mach 3 but will no luck, they have since used the usb and the usbcnc software. I have sent a message to the seller, im hoping we can come to an arrangement and I buy a genuine planet board as I would of thought that would be the best way forward instead of shipping parts too and frow. Does that sound like a reasonable plan of action? also confused as to why the x-axis isnt playing ball too