PDA

View Full Version : Generating multiple paths at incremental depths -easily



Stressedwoodman
05-07-2017, 04:25 PM
Having built my machine with help from Dean. I am now trying to write the gcode for the 3D components I built the machine for, some audio wave guides (horns) The build strategy for these is to build them up from layers of birch ply. As the finished components are over 700mm tall I am intending to glue together 14 slices each 50mm thick, with dowels to transfer the datums between the slices.
I have become competent in 2d programming in aspire and have made a number of jigs etc.
Have been trawling through the aspire videos to work out how to program the machining of these 3D slices. What I wanted to do is machine 2d tool paths and 1mm depth increments. I can manually do this and have done this to demonstrate a point. Is there an easy way of automating this is I would have 700 paths on the inside and the same again on the outer profile to do.
I had tried importing a 3D model into aspire and allow it to do the paths but the stl file seems to loose detail.

Chaz
05-07-2017, 05:19 PM
Have you considered Fusion 360? That's the way to go ....

magicniner
05-07-2017, 06:22 PM
Forgive me if this is too left-field or off-the-wall but ..........

If you set up a 3D printing Slicer for a 1mm extruder nozzle, 1mm part wall, no fill and 1mm layer depth then most of what lies between the height moves will be the paths you need, you'd have to weed out extruder commands and apply tool offsets and paste each path into a working code "header and footer".

Just a thought ;-)
- Nick

EddyCurrent
05-07-2017, 07:00 PM
Or give CamBam a try;

http://www.cambam.info/downloads/
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php

Ger21
05-07-2017, 08:07 PM
I think that Cut3D does slicing. MeshCAM does as well.

Boyan Silyavski
06-07-2017, 05:51 AM
What and why are you trying to do this way??? You import a model in Aspire, slice it. Then go to machine it 3d. Thats it. It does not loose detail, what could happen is minor artifacts here and there. Nothing that could not be sanded easily when wood.

http://www.vectric.com/support/training-material/aspire-vcp/2d-25d-mach.html video 10

http://fromaspiretobeyond.blogspot.com.es/2014/02/slicing-made-easy.html

etc. Dont forget to do the dowel holes in model initially before slicing. So when sliced, all will be fine.


Now if it was aluminum, thats another thing. Aspire have made me crazy with its automated decisions and introducing artifacts. Then you need real 3D control, like other suggested Fusion 360 or similar. The problem could be understanding all the toolpath details when programming it.


I had a big brain storm when i felt Aspire is no good for me already and i am no good at programming a 3d machining in a complex CAM