PDA

View Full Version : conect 121 new toy



Ross77
07-09-2017, 11:51 PM
Ive just picked up an old (ish) Conect 121 cnc lathe. Looks to be in good condition and No excessive wear.

22752

I plan to replace the stepper drives as others have done but Id like to use the original spindle drive and stepper drive to test it and get it up and running. I cant seem to find much information so if any one has a wiring diagram or knows the points to connect Id be grateful.

Thanks in advance

magicniner
08-09-2017, 12:04 AM
Myford ML10 based I believe, - check out http://www.lathes.co.uk/ml10/

- Nick

Ross77
08-09-2017, 01:38 AM
Thanks Nick, yes the base lathe is the ML10 but the electronics are Conect and there isn't much info about.

Ive seen reference to 10v control and an enable line for the spindle but not sure if I can run if direct off a BOB, or which wires they are.

magicniner
08-09-2017, 09:58 AM
My benchtop CNC mill was the same brand, most of the original electronics had already been replaced when I got it, I replaced what remained but I've never been able to find much info on Conect equipment beyond that the mill was probably based on a Rishton milling machine.

You should be able to identify the control signals with a meter and work out where to insert signals and at what voltages,
Regards,
Nick

m_c
08-09-2017, 07:56 PM
From what I remember, you can trace the step/dir control pins back to the original controller chip.

However, they are 80s technology, and I don't think it would be worth the hassle. Even a couple of the TB6600 drives should give an improvement in performance, and they can be had for less than 10 each. Combine those with a cheap BOB, and you've got all the major components covered.
The only thing is you'd need to ensure the 0-10V for the spindle speed is isolated, or upgrade the spindle drive to something that doesn't need an isolated speed control.

Ross77
08-09-2017, 11:09 PM
You should be able to identify the control signals with a meter and work out where to insert signals and at what voltages,

nothing works so I cant trace the signals.


The only thing is you'd need to ensure the 0-10V for the spindle speed is isolated, or upgrade the spindle drive to something that doesn't need an isolated speed control.

So if if i power the BOB from the 5v of the conect board will that not work?

Yes I will replace the stepper drivers but I would like to use the DC spindle motor?

m_c
09-09-2017, 12:38 AM
nothing works so I cant trace the signals.

As long as you can get the part number of the stepper chips, and find a datasheet, just trace the PCB tracks. Or there will only be 2 tracks that go to dedicated pins on the controller chip from each stepper chip, which leaves only two options as to what is the step and dir.


So if if i power the BOB from the 5v of the conect board will that not work?

Yes I will replace the stepper drivers but I would like to use the DC spindle motor?
You really need to find out what the spindle drive is. Mine was a SCR style drive (very common for DC motors), which means the speed control terminals are at near mains voltage. Connect them to anything other than an isolated 0-10V, and something will be releasing magic smoke.

Ross77
09-09-2017, 01:13 AM
You really need to find out what the spindle drive is. Mine was a SCR style drive (very common for DC motors), which means the speed control terminals are at near mains voltage. Connect them to anything other than an isolated 0-10V, and something will be releasing magic smoke.

Dam, I have no idea what drive it is. The machine is from 1986 and has the Lander control board. it does look like the input is 240v and there is a transformer before the motor.

m_c
09-09-2017, 10:50 AM
Post up some photos.
It won't be a transformer, it'll be a choke.

I know mine came with a Cheetah drive, but I had to replace it with a KBIC, as the Cheetah was blowing fuses.

Ross77
09-09-2017, 11:28 AM
Thanks, you pointed me in the right direction. bit of googling and it is an SCR drive and its a Neco one. Ive found the 3 control wires but not sure if the enable will be ground, +5v or +10v

Will I damage it trying different combinations?

Ultimately I think i Will have to replace the motor and drive but it would be good to get it running to make sure the lathe can manage what I want to do with it.

22765

Tracing back the spindle control side of the main controller it seems to be fed from a dedicated 20v Dc circuit.

Ross77
10-09-2017, 08:43 PM
Thanks to some dodgy wiring on my part the controller has deceased.

So on to plan B then and a new controller. Other than the KBIC are there any other good 180V Dc motor controllers?

Reversing and braking would be good :smile:

x-rayman
01-10-2017, 10:47 AM
Hi,
I have a conect cadet plus lathe made by the same company.
The manual and the original software can be found on this forum.
I have also discovered some of the control codes for my machine if you are interested please PM me.

Ross77
02-10-2017, 12:31 AM
Hi,
I have a conect cadet plus lathe made by the same company.
The manual and the original software can be found on this forum.
I have also discovered some of the control codes for my machine if you are interested please PM me.

Thanks but I have already replaced the Dc drive and stepper dives so nearly working, just need to get the spindle pwm and index linked to LCNC.

x-rayman
02-10-2017, 10:10 AM
Thanks but I have already replaced the Dc drive and stepper dives so nearly working, just need to get the spindle pwm and index linked to LCNC.
No problem hope all goes well.