PDA

View Full Version : Genorth VFD - anyone used one?



Washout
11-09-2017, 04:16 PM
Hi all,

Just browsing around and I noticed Amazon (chinese reseller obviously) are selling this VFD, which has a good price and is under "Prime"...

I wondered if anyone has taken a punt on one rather than the usual Huanyang units we seem to be fond of.

http://amzn.eu/jfMRaQi

Clive S
11-09-2017, 06:28 PM
Hi all,

Just browsing around and I noticed Amazon (chinese reseller obviously) are selling this VFD, which has a good price and is under "Prime"...

I wondered if anyone has taken a punt on one rather than the usual Huanyang units we seem to be fond of.

http://amzn.eu/jfMRaQi

Why bother when the others are tried and tested. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/De-Stock-2-2KW-3HP-10A-CNC-220V-VARIABLE-FREQUENCY-DRIVE-INVERTER-VFD-/272042790263?hash=item3f57038d77:g:zmgAAOSwSj1ZiCv 1
you are only saving 50p

Washout
11-09-2017, 07:31 PM
Why bother when the others are tried and tested. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/De-Stock-2-2KW-3HP-10A-CNC-220V-VARIABLE-FREQUENCY-DRIVE-INVERTER-VFD-/272042790263?hash=item3f57038d77:g:zmgAAOSwSj1ZiCv 1
you are only saving 50p

Hi Clive

Just idle curiosity mainly. I wondered if another company might have improved on the HY in some way for the same price roughly - the Genorth does have a pot on the front for frequency dialing, which I guess is an upgrade if you don't use control via MACH3.

If my current one goes pop (I'm on my 2nd unit) I might take a punt anyway just to see.

Chris

magicniner
11-09-2017, 10:47 PM
Why not Siemens or ABB?

Clive S
11-09-2017, 11:14 PM
Hi Clive

Just idle curiosity mainly. I wondered if another company might have improved on the HY in some way for the same price roughly - the Genorth does have a pot on the front for frequency dialing, which I guess is an upgrade if you don't use control via MACH3.

If my current one goes pop (I'm on my 2nd unit) I might take a punt anyway just to see.

Chris

Chris.Some of them do have a pot on the front, but a pot is only about 2 and 5 mins to fit the hole is already there and the pot fits straight onto the pcb board on the front, I have done a post on fitting it on the forum http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/7388-Fitting-a-pot-to-a-Chinese-Spindle-VFD?highlight=fitting

Washout
12-09-2017, 12:04 AM
Chris.Some of them do have a pot on the front, but a pot is only about 2 and 5 mins to fit the hole is already there and the pot fits straight onto the pcb board on the front, I have done a post on fitting it on the forum http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/7388-Fitting-a-pot-to-a-Chinese-Spindle-VFD?highlight=fitting

Thanks Clive - I never knew it could be retro fitted.

Washout
12-09-2017, 12:05 AM
Why not Siemens or ABB?

Certainly an option - I thought the Siemens VFDs were actually more expensive than the 198 I've seen a 2.2kw model for.

magicniner
12-09-2017, 12:09 AM
Certainly an option - I thought the Siemens VFDs were actually more expensive than the 198 I've seen a 2.2kw model for.

Oh they are, but how many cheap jobs will you bought in 10+ years for your application and how cheap does that make them?