PDA

View Full Version : Profile Circle on 3040



dfox1787
27-11-2017, 10:01 PM
I have no idea whats going on here guys.

My china 3040 does not want to cut out circles.

I used aspire to generate the gcode and the circles come out as shown in the pic. The cnc doesnt seem to follow the line back to the start.

Any ideas or suggestions to troubleshoot this would be appreciated.


23270

Doddy
27-11-2017, 10:08 PM
Others will have more experience here, but have you tried a simple square?

Things I'm thinking - superficially, at least, it looks like you might be losing steps in the x-axis, but I don't know/can't rule out if aspire has a mach3 post-processor and/or if arcs could be causing an issue?, If you repeat the test with a simple 40x40mm square then at least you can start to understand if you're losing steps due to acceleration or max feed rate. When calibrating my machine I usually run a 40mm square with diagonals routed as well (a X in a box) just to get a visual on linearity, etc.

dfox1787
27-11-2017, 11:27 PM
Others will have more experience here, but have you tried a simple square?

Things I'm thinking - superficially, at least, it looks like you might be losing steps in the x-axis, but I don't know/can't rule out if aspire has a mach3 post-processor and/or if arcs could be causing an issue?, If you repeat the test with a simple 40x40mm square then at least you can start to understand if you're losing steps due to acceleration or max feed rate. When calibrating my machine I usually run a 40mm square with diagonals routed as well (a X in a box) just to get a visual on linearity, etc.Hi

The project itself does have a rectangle section that it did cut out fine it's just not in the shot.

I also recently ran staight grid cuts that appeared to work ok.

If you have some gcode I could try in mach3 that's not dine in aspire that would be helpful. The circle is suppose to be 8mm in diameter.



Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

Doddy
28-11-2017, 07:58 AM
Something like this (below)

40mm square containing a circle.

Spindle speed 12000rpm, tool dia 2.5mm (not critical). DOC 0.4mm, feed rate 800mm/m, plunge rate 300mm/m




( T0 : 2.5 )
G21 G90 G91.1 G64 G40
G0 Z3.0
( T0 : 2.5 )
T0 M6
( Engrave1 )
G17
M3 S12000
G0 X0.0 Y0.0
G0 Z1.0
G1 F300.0 Z-0.4
G1 F800.0 X40.0
G1 Y40.0
G1 X0.0
G1 Y0.0
G0 Z3.0
G0 X5.8579 Y5.8579
G0 Z1.0
G1 F300.0 Z-0.4
G3 F800.0 X10.0 Y2.6795 I14.1421 J14.1421
G3 X40.0 Y20.0 I10.0 J17.3205
G3 X10.0 Y37.3205 I-20.0 J0.0
G3 X5.8579 Y5.8579 I10.0 J-17.3205
G1 F300.0 Z-0.8
G3 F800.0 X10.0 Y2.6795 I14.1421 J14.1421
G3 X40.0 Y20.0 I10.0 J17.3205
G3 X10.0 Y37.3205 I-20.0 J0.0
G3 X5.8579 Y5.8579 I10.0 J-17.3205
G0 Z3.0
G0 X0.0
G0 Z0.6
G1 F300.0 Z-0.8
G1 F800.0 Y0.0
G1 X40.0
G1 Y40.0
G1 X0.0
G1 Y5.8579
G0 Z3.0
M5
M30

dfox1787
28-11-2017, 09:30 AM
cheers ill try this later see what happens.

Kev2960
28-11-2017, 09:25 PM
I had a similar problem with my 6040 router.The CNC Blog (https://the-cnc.blogspot.co.uk/p/blog-page_2.html)

dfox1787
29-11-2017, 10:44 AM
I had a similar problem with my 6040 router.The CNC Blog (https://the-cnc.blogspot.co.uk/p/blog-page_2.html)

Improvement with your mach3 settings. Not perfect but that may be the cutter i am using.

23273

Clive S
29-11-2017, 02:35 PM
Improvement with your mach3 settings. Not perfect but that may be the cutter i am using.

23273

You are not helping yourself. why don't you copy and paste Doddy code and give some feedback as to what is happening and take it one step at a time. You have to establish if you are losing steps or have backlash etc.

dfox1787
29-11-2017, 02:49 PM
You are not helping yourself. why don't you copy and paste Doddy code and give some feedback as to what is happening and take it one step at a time. You have to establish if you are losing steps or have backlash etc.

How am i not helping myself. I ran his code but i still had issues so that.

Once i changed the acceleration the circle cut improved. it was set to 2000 but reducing it to 1500 improved the circle.

I'm going to run the cut again with the appropriate end mill.

Clive S
29-11-2017, 03:59 PM
How am i not helping myself. Because you are not actually giving any good info ie. (it was set to 2000 but reducing it to 1500 improved the circle. ) does not mean anything with the parameters that go with it.

Also you said that you ran his code!! which code Doddy's is the only code I see in this thread and that has a square and circle.

If you want help you have be more specific with the questions as the crystal ball is broken.

dfox1787
29-11-2017, 04:10 PM
Because you are not actually giving any good info ie. (it was set to 2000 but reducing it to 1500 improved the circle. ) does not mean anything with the parameters that go with it.

Also you said that you ran his code!! which code Doddy's is the only code I see in this thread and that has a square and circle.

If you want help you have be more specific with the questions as the crystal ball is broken.

im not sure what info i can give.

I'm pretty new to cnc and i posted on here for help not criticism.

i did say the acceleration was 2000 but now i set it to 1500 which has improved it. What i meant was i changed velocity.

23280

Clive S
29-11-2017, 05:12 PM
I'm pretty new to cnc and i posted on here for help not criticism.I am sorry you feel like that but I suggest you re read this thread from the beginning and look back at your answers carefully and you will see that you have not given any clear reports back.

Did you run Doddy's code !! if so what is the result?

dfox1787
29-11-2017, 06:57 PM
I am sorry you feel like that but I suggest you re read this thread from the beginning and look back at your answers carefully and you will see that you have not given any clear reports back.

Did you run Doddy's code !! if so what is the result?I ran his code but the bit just hovers above the stock so I'm not sure if it's my machine or if the gcode has been setup to zero from the bottom of the material. I'll try and get a short video showing this.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

Clive S
29-11-2017, 07:16 PM
I ran his code but the bit just hovers above the stock so I'm not sure if it's my machine or if the gcode has been setup to zero from the bottom of the material. I'll try and get a short video showing this.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

Did you zero your Z on the top of the part? You can see in his code:
G0 X0.0 Y0.0
G0 Z1.0
G1 F300.0 Z-0.4
G1 F800.0 X40.0
G1 Y40.0
G1 X0.0

That the Z will move to 1mm above the part and then sets the feed rate to 300mm/min and drops the Z to -0.4mm below the top of the part.

What do you mean by (just hovers) ie does it stay still or does it follow the intended path?

dfox1787
29-11-2017, 07:26 PM
Did you zero your Z on the top of the part? You can see in his code:
G0 X0.0 Y0.0
G0 Z1.0
G1 F300.0 Z-0.4
G1 F800.0 X40.0
G1 Y40.0
G1 X0.0

That the Z will move to 1mm above the part and then sets the feed rate to 300mm/min and drops the Z to -0.4mm below the top of the part.

What do you mean by (just hovers) ie does it stay still or does it follow the intended path?Yes I zeroed the top.

The z seems to move up the further it gets into the job.

This is on some scrap pcb board. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171129/f51958c624899abcaacd50a6d16139bb.jpg

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

Clive S
29-11-2017, 07:32 PM
Yes I zeroed the top.

The z seems to move up the further it gets into the job. Or the bed is going down. Have you levelled the bed and skimmed the top off?

Kev2960
29-11-2017, 07:38 PM
Hi, if you go to my blog it gives all the mach3 settings. It sounds like some of the settings are ok and some arenít, so just spend a bit of time going through them. If youíre still unsure pm me and Iíll go through them with you
Kev

dfox1787
29-11-2017, 07:40 PM
Or the bed is going down. Have you levelled the bed and skimmed the top off?Yes I have. I have a mdf spoilboard that I ran a surface pass on.



Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

Kev2960
29-11-2017, 07:52 PM
Are you just doing the settings on the motor settings page ?

dfox1787
29-11-2017, 07:55 PM
Are you just doing the settings on the motor settings page ?Yes. My controller is very basic and doesn't have spindle mach3 spindle control

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

dfox1787
29-11-2017, 07:55 PM
Yes. My controller is very basic and doesn't have spindle mach3 spindle control or end stops etc.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk



Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

Kev2960
29-11-2017, 08:02 PM
No thatís ok, but just changing the motor settings wonít solve the problem. You should go through all the pages,
ďmy mach3 settings ď
sorry to keep saying that

dfox1787
29-11-2017, 08:14 PM
No thatís ok, but just changing the motor settings wonít solve the problem. You should go through all the pages,
ďmy mach3 settings ď
sorry to keep saying thatPmd you

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

A_Camera
01-12-2017, 01:09 PM
Yes I zeroed the top.

The z seems to move up the further it gets into the job.

...or...

...the PCB is not fixed to the table. - Are you using double sided tape over the whole surface of the PCB?
...the PCB is not flat enough. - Measured over the whole area with a caliper?
...the PCB is not even in thickness. - Checked for variations with a caliper?
...the table is not levelled.
...the X is not levelled to the table surface and is tilting the Z.

PCB is not the optimal for this sort of tests but many things can be wrong. Work with the G-code given to you, once you can mill a square you can move on to making other things, but don't jump from one to the other type of code. Personally I think you have alignment issues somewhere. You have to align everything mechanically as good as possible, measure every angle BEFORE surfacing the table. The surfacing is the last moment, when everything else is as good as it can be.

When making PCB it is important that you fix the PCB over the whole area to eliminate warping or bending. At least if it is a large piece and if the PCB is low quality.

dfox1787
01-12-2017, 02:26 PM
Sorry for the delay on this i ended up go away for a few days for work.

I changed my mach3 settings to the same as Kevs and it machined fine this time round.

https://youtu.be/Jq5Ni7jtQcs

Kev2960
01-12-2017, 02:36 PM
Awesome. Pleased it works ok

Kev2960
01-12-2017, 02:41 PM
Just looked at your YouTube video and it looks pretty good to me

Kev2960
02-12-2017, 12:12 AM
You might be interested in other things on my blog, like auto tool measurement https://the-cnc.blogspot.co.uk/p/blog-page_2.html