PDA

View Full Version : Pacer Cadet What software?



rainboweyes
06-12-2017, 12:11 AM
I have a stretched cadet Pacer cnc which I am very happy with and is working fine. It's working on a windows XP platform. I have been told it can machine 21/2D. This is what I would like to achieve for the cnc. It is a very similar machine that we had back in Artform approx 2001. It had Rhino software and worked fine from what I can remember. I have spoken to Rhino and they can't help me with an old software and their latest version for a licence is approx 2k. This is way out of my league at even half the price. I've spoken to AXYZ who own Pacer now as well. Does anyone know a way around this that works as it would be a major plus to be able to carve etc. Thanks in advance for anyone helping me. Mike

rainboweyes
06-12-2017, 12:42 AM
I have a stretched cadet Pacer cnc which I am very happy with and is working fine. It's working on a windows XP platform. I have been told it can machine 21/2D. This is what I would like to achieve for the cnc. It is a very similar machine that we had back in Artform approx 2001. It had Rhino software and worked fine from what I can remember. I have spoken to Rhino and they can't help me with an old software and their latest version for a licence is approx 2k. This is way out of my league at even half the price. I've spoken to AXYZ who own Pacer now as well. Does anyone know a way around this that works as it would be a major plus to be able to carve etc. Thanks in advance for anyone helping me. Mike

magicniner
06-12-2017, 01:24 AM
That's difficult for me to read on my tablet!

magicniner
06-12-2017, 01:25 AM
Is there an echo in here? ;-)

rainboweyes
06-12-2017, 02:00 AM
Yep 2000 is way to expensive for me. I was a Prototype Engineer at Artform for many years but now I have a second income with Box Clever design and just looking to develop my own ideas.

Neale
06-12-2017, 09:48 AM
If you want something reasonably easy to use, you could look at the Vectric products - Cut3D, VCarve, or Aspire might fit the bill. Alternatively, for non-commercial use, Fusion 360 is a very powerful full-blown 3D CAD/CAM package and is free, but it does cost quite a bit for commercial use

All of these will take you from initial design on-screen through to toolpath generation. Whether they can generate gcode that runs on your machine depends on the motion control software that drives your machine. Do you know what that is?

EddyCurrent
06-12-2017, 12:35 PM
Do something about the font you are using !

Have a look at CamBam, FreeCAD, CAMotics.
Members of the CamBam forum can make a post processor (only for use with CamBam) for your machine if you can supply the correct information regarding it's gcode dialect.

rainboweyes
06-12-2017, 09:50 PM
Thanks I'm looking at the software's you have mentioned just looking at how to get them onto my pc as they are costly again. Didn't know fusion 360 was free missed that somehow. As you say generating the gcode is a different matter. The information that I can give you about the control stuff is XMC-E Version 3.23.1.6
Model Cadet with NEE Controller Axiomatic Technology Ltd. Hope this helps. Let me know if you need anything else and thanks in advance.

rainboweyes
06-12-2017, 09:52 PM
Thanks for that will look into this amongst everything else, it's the post processing that is the key by all counts. Tried to alter the text but not happening.

magicniner
07-12-2017, 02:19 AM
I bought BobCAD-CAM V25 4-Axis Standard near the end of it's service life for a total of around 1200.
For the price it's fantastic and was the step change in functionality compared to previous versions they needed, the opportunity to run trials of the versions up to 29 has been very useful.

If I were you I'd go for the free to small users Autodesk product, it's fantastic value right up to the point they pull the plug and hand you a bill for your next 12 months functionality, although I'm sure Autodesk would never do something like that to free users in the way they've tried to do it to Perpetual Licence users! :D

EddyCurrent
07-12-2017, 09:56 AM
The problem I have with Fusion 360 is that it's free, there is quite a steep learning curve on how to use it, when the day comes when it's not free I'd have wasted all that time and effort learning it and then I'm back to square one. Open source software is something I use as much as possible if it does the job but Fusion 360 is not open source.

rainboweyes
07-12-2017, 06:27 PM
Thanks Eddy for ali your advice it's a good point

Lee Roberts
08-12-2017, 12:20 PM
Is there an echo in here? ;-)

Threads merged.

Aip
21-01-2018, 08:02 PM
Hi Mike
Hope your visit today was worthwhile for you and you can go forward with your 2 1/2 D engraving.

magicniner
22-01-2018, 12:57 AM
The problem I have with Fusion 360 is that it's free, there is quite a steep learning curve on how to use it, when the day comes when it's not free I'd have wasted all that time and effort learning it and then I'm back to square one. Open source software is something I use as much as possible if it does the job but Fusion 360 is not open source.

I wouldn't worry about that, I'd worry that the documentation isn't up to date with the development and that they break it, you get the broken version, and you have no control over their fix timetable, you got it free, what do you mean SLA? :-)
Autodesk are one of the nastiest companies in CAD/CAM and actively buy up and integrate or kill anything that might threaten their margin, the sooner they go the way of Carillion the better.