PDA

View Full Version : Bench-top or welded frame

Doddy
08-01-2018, 08:30 AM
I'm thinking about investing some time in designing a small (~800x600) router to cut upto and including aluminium. My existing work area supports a bench-top design, sat on a DIY pine workbench. But, is there a genuine advantage in knocking up a free-standing steel frame for this. Would a steel frame, say 100x50x3 box (it's a good price, and the online deflection calculators suggest it's a good geometry) offer advantage over a floating bed made from the same, sat on top of a bench top.

I do have a tig welder that's collecting dust.

Sorry - my background is in the soft-skills of sparks and computers, I don't understand this 'ere mechanical stuff.

EddyCurrent
08-01-2018, 12:11 PM
My machine is a 900x600 but it's footprint is about 1200x1250 so you would need a large bench for a start.
Without some extra mass the thing would bounce about all over the place because the forces involved are a lot more than anticipated.
I would always build a frame on which to place the machine but it needs to be designed correctly.

Doddy
08-01-2018, 01:33 PM
Eddy - aha, I was preoccupied with rigidity, not mass - something of an oversight of mine.

Doddy
18-02-2018, 10:47 AM
So, I've been playing with Fusion 360, as much to try to get some familiarity with the software, using the idea of a frame as a starter project...