PDA

View Full Version : Cslabs now have Own Control Software



JAZZCNC
31-01-2018, 09:45 AM
Hi just to let know that Cslabs now have there own Control software. It's called SimCNC and it's currently on 30day free trial.
http://en.cs-lab.eu/premiere-new-simcnc-software-cs-lab-offer/

Haven't used it yet my self but will be doing and I'll post a thread about it.

m_c
31-01-2018, 10:41 AM
Interesting. Shame they've not provided much detail about it.

Any chance of what it's actually capable of, and some screenshots when you do test it?

JAZZCNC
31-01-2018, 12:02 PM
Interesting. Shame they've not provided much detail about it.

Any chance of what it's actually capable of, and some screenshots when you do test it?

Here's the front end. That's far as I've got so far. I'm having trouble updating Firmware and until it's done can't use it in anger. I'll start a thread with any issues I find and why can't update firm ware etc. Thinking it's dodgy Firmware or loader because I've updated many these controllers without issues.

23694

alboy
31-01-2018, 07:48 PM
Just ordered the 30 day trial software myself. Not much info on the website, no manual to peruse, does a manual come with the software download Dean?

routercnc
31-01-2018, 10:20 PM
Nice one Dean thanks.

An interesting proposition as this means controller hardware and controller software are from the same vendor, not having to use a plug-in with a 3rd party (e.g. Mach3) software.

If I understand what they are doing -
This offer was launched only a month ago so it is not ready yet.
You can get a perpetual 30 day demo licence now for free whilst they finish it but when it is finished you will have to pay a higher amount (potentially 259 Euro).

Or you can take a punt and pay only '179 Euro' now, receive the WIP versions as they are updated, and when it is ready you will get it shipped free.

Either way following with interest.

JAZZCNC
01-02-2018, 12:03 AM
Just ordered the 30 day trial software myself. Not much info on the website, no manual to peruse, does a manual come with the software download Dean?

No there is an Install manual you can download. I'm sure there will be manual at some point but it's still early days and sure there will be changes happening. Manual tends to be little later down the line when things have settled down.

Just so your aware machine needs to be connected to internet to install software which is a pain in the arse but I'm sure they'll come up with a standalone version at some point.

alboy
01-02-2018, 12:07 AM
yep, having to connect to the internet is a right pain in the arse, I deliberately do not have my control PC connected to the internet. I look forward to your review of the software Dean. I am sure it will be far more informative than anything I could do lol. I am really hoping that there is semi auto tool change height setter like the 2010 screen set.

JAZZCNC
01-02-2018, 12:11 AM
Nice one Dean thanks.

An interesting proposition as this means controller hardware and controller software are from the same vendor, not having to use a plug-in with a 3rd party (e.g. Mach3) software.

Yep but better still is the motion planner they are using. S curve planners give much smoother performance than standard planners which most other control softwares use.
Art fennerty made a version of Mach Called Tempest which used S curve planner and for 3D work it was great but at that time the computing power of PC's wasn't enough to justify Art to developing it further. Today's PC's are more than upto hence why we are seeing it.

alboy
01-02-2018, 12:38 AM
Yep but better still is the motion planner they are using. S curve planners give much smoother performance than standard planners which most other control softwares use.
Art fennerty made a version of Mach Called Tempest which used S curve planner and for 3D work it was great but at that time the computing power of PC's wasn't enough to justify Art to developing it further. Today's PC's are more than upto hence why we are seeing it.

Dammit now I have to go and google S curve control methods lol.

Ger21
01-02-2018, 02:01 AM
I wonder what the pace of development will be. A complex control can take a long time to develop. UCCNC for example, has been steadily adding features for over 3 years now.
We all know how long Mach4 has been in development.
Fwiw, S curve is on the to do list for UCCNC, but I don't expect it anytime too..
I still use Tempest occasionally on my old router. Much smoother, and more accurate for 3D work than the default Mach3 planner.
S-Curve is really good for powerful, fast machines.

Lot's of good control options available these days, and still everyone keeps using Mach3. :witless:

JAZZCNC
01-02-2018, 02:50 AM
I wonder what the pace of development will be. A complex control can take a long time to develop. UCCNC for example, has been steadily adding features for over 3 years now.
We all know how long Mach4 has been in development.
Fwiw, S curve is on the to do list for UCCNC, but I don't expect it anytime too..
I still use Tempest occasionally on my old router. Much smoother, and more accurate for 3D work than the default Mach3 planner.
S-Curve is really good for powerful, fast machines.

Lot's of good control options available these days, and still everyone keeps using Mach3. :witless:

Familiarity and huge user base is all that's keeping mach3 alive I think Gerry. Mach4 is just none starter really hence why people like Cslabs and MCP are jumping ship I think. Just wished they'd done it sooner.

Regards development we'll have to wait and see. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see it features Tangential cutting which I believe UCCNC still doesn't.?
You'd expect little often used a feature like this to be low priority or sidelined for a future release. Let's hope it allows G2/3 moves for arcs.!

What I will do when get it working is check out how it handles G42 as well and report on UCCNC.

Web Goblin
01-02-2018, 01:13 PM
Dean,
A good report on the software would be great particularly looking at dual homing/gantry correction and info on the tool change procedure would be well received. I am seriously looking and dumping the cslabs control and moving to Centroids Acorn. I remember emailing Cslabs a while back asking if they would support any other software apart from Mach and they said they didn't have any plans for it so maybe this was just under wraps until it reached release stage. Unfortunately I don't have a working machine to test it on at the moment but does it operate in demo mode?

Ian

Krammer002
01-02-2018, 02:22 PM
Here's the front end. That's far as I've got so far. I'm having trouble updating Firmware and until it's done can't use it in anger. I'll start a thread with any issues I find and why can't update firm ware etc. Thinking it's dodgy Firmware or loader because I've updated many these controllers without issues.

23694

Am i right in thinking that it doesn't run without CS-LAB hardware connected?

A good excuse to make a Youtube video...:nevreness:

JAZZCNC
01-02-2018, 05:07 PM
Dean,
A good report on the software would be great particularly looking at dual homing/gantry correction and info on the tool change procedure would be well received. I am seriously looking and dumping the cslabs control and moving to Centroids Acorn. I remember emailing Cslabs a while back asking if they would support any other software apart from Mach and they said they didn't have any plans for it so maybe this was just under wraps until it reached release stage. Unfortunately I don't have a working machine to test it on at the moment but does it operate in demo mode?

Ian

Hi Ian,

Wouldn't jump ship to Acorn just yet if your using on Router. I've got one here and it's not well featured for Routers at minute. However it's being worked on as we speak. Centroid guys are very helpful and as we are asking them for features they are providing them or trying.
Just last night was working on new tool change macro provided which is more suited to routers. But there PLC works very different to anything I've used before so lots of head scratching at minute.

To be honest, until they make the homing work correctly to suit slaved motors it's none starter for me. But they are working on it and hopefully will soon have something to test.

Regards SimCNC then I will report back but as of yet, I've not got it working with the IP-S on my machine because it won't update the firmware. (But my IP-S is very early version so could something to do with that.?)
I have just installed it on new IP-M (just on bench test) and worked no problems. However, I now need License key so waiting for them to send me that.

The software will install without needing controller attached (does need internet access to install) but won't let you do anything without controller attached and even when you do have one attached won't do anything without license Key.

When I have it up and Running then Yes I will make video. However I wouldn't start getting excited just yet because it's still work in progress and I'm sure got a long way to go before can match other well established software.

JAZZCNC
01-02-2018, 08:58 PM
Ok here's a (Like watching paint drying as Clive S told me) video showing Install, Firmware update and first bench test without License look at software.

I'll do better one when can get it on actual machine.


https://youtu.be/QQb5RSa_rHI

Neale
01-02-2018, 10:21 PM
...and still everyone keeps using Mach3. :witless:

In my case, because I'm using an IP/M! But now it looks as if there might be a choice...

routercnc
01-02-2018, 11:04 PM
Nice video Dean thanks for taking the time to investigate. Hope your license arrives soon.

JAZZCNC
02-02-2018, 12:01 AM
Nice video Dean thanks for taking the time to investigate. Hope your license arrives soon.

Not having the license isn't so much big deal as not having the time to play properly.!!

Chaz
02-02-2018, 02:46 PM
Thanks, wasnt aware of this. Interesting move, they were having some real Mach 3 issues, so not surprised by this actually.

Krammer002
02-02-2018, 02:51 PM
Thanks for the video Dean...