PDA

View Full Version : Adding V bits to tool library



dfox1787
14-02-2018, 11:34 AM
hi

Could anyone assist me in adding these cheap engraving bits into the tool library on fusion 360?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-10pcs-0-1mm-45-Degree-Carbide-Steel-Pyramid-Engraving-Bits-CNC-Router-Tool/371405094654?hash=item567977fefe:g:fsEAAOSwPcVVwaO H

EddyCurrent
14-02-2018, 06:27 PM
1. The cost of them has no bearing on it.
2. The tool library of what ?

johngoodrich
14-02-2018, 06:53 PM
1. The cost of them has no bearing on it.
2. The tool library of what ?

Fusion 360 obviously. look at the category op posted in

Neale
15-02-2018, 08:30 AM
Have you tried Google? There's a whole bunch of stuff if you look for something like "Fusion 360 add tool to library". The Youtube videos by NYC CNC are well-regarded and he has one, I see. It's a pretty straightforward thing to do, once you have found out what the important parameters are as opposed to the ones you can ignore (bit like much of F360, in fact). Ignore things like "toolholder", for example. It's important for some things, but safe to ignore when you're getting started.

dfox1787
15-02-2018, 10:19 AM
1. The cost of them has no bearing on it.
2. The tool library of what ?

Correct the cost is irrelevant but the diameter information on the link probably is.

I put this post in the Fusion 360 section so assumed people would know its for doing this on fusion 360.

dfox1787
15-02-2018, 11:24 AM
Have you tried Google? There's a whole bunch of stuff if you look for something like "Fusion 360 add tool to library". The Youtube videos by NYC CNC are well-regarded and he has one, I see. It's a pretty straightforward thing to do, once you have found out what the important parameters are as opposed to the ones you can ignore (bit like much of F360, in fact). Ignore things like "toolholder", for example. It's important for some things, but safe to ignore when you're getting started.

Yeah ive had a look but i was surprised to see you cant add them in as a actual v bit. Ill have to add them as chamfer or somehting similiar.

m_c
15-02-2018, 12:00 PM
Yeah ive had a look but i was surprised to see you cant add them in as a actual v bit. Ill have to add them as chamfer or somehting similiar.

A V bit is just a type of chamfer cutter...

Neale
15-02-2018, 12:27 PM
A V bit is just a type of chamfer cutter...

...and F360 appears to allow you to enter a 0mm tip diameter to make it a V-cutter.

I did wonder about the question as the "tool entry" mechanism is pretty straightforward. All is now clear!