PDA

View Full Version : New Control Box with DDCSV - Help needed



Rye
22-02-2018, 03:58 PM
Hi all,

I've owned a Chinese 6040 for a while and it's had a lot of hammer. I did want a new machine making, but given my health and hobby needs, as well as a lack of money, I've given up on that idea for now. That aside, because my machine has had a lot of hammer, things are starting to fall to bits. The black-box that has an offline SMC4 controller fitted is starting to fail: the pump switch is broke, the SMC4 doesn't always read the SD card, and the fan on the power supply has stopped working. Obviously, I could just replace the parts, but I figured I'd have a go at building a new box using a DDCSV1.1. I also need to free some bench space in my shed; so building a wall mounted box should help.

Anyways, after seeking a little advice from Clive and Boyan, I've ordered most of the parts I need and started the build. Admittedly, I have little knowledge when it comes to building stuff like this and, because I don't want to be building a toaster, I figured I'd make this thread for the extra help.

I'm making the main box for the power supplies and steppers, and a separate box for the controller, out of aluminium. Had a few sheets of 500x300x1.5mm so figured I'd make use of that.

I've cut a little alu before on my CNC with next to no problems. But this stuff was a pain in the ass. At one point I was getting some nice little chips, next minute I was getting a lot of chatter and a terrible finish. Still, ain't bothered how it looks as long as it all fits together.

Fitted a toroidal transformer to give me 36v for the drivers and a 24v supply to power the DDCSV, fan, and pump for the spindle. Both fan and pump will be stepped down to 12v.

Here's a pic so far:

23800

I've still to add an earth star-point, but I've temporally wired the DDCSV and steppers and they all power up fine. The steppers I'm using are just some cheap 2DM542-N. I could have gone Leadshine, but with this being my first attempt I didn't want to be destroying expensive drivers. Besides, can always modify things later.

The above is about as far as I've got. Still waiting for a 37pin D-sub cable to arrive and 4 Core CY cable. I also need to buy a new 1.5k VFD for the spindle. The D-Sub will be used to connect to the box containing the DDCSV, E-stop and rotary controller.

Greatly appreciate any help with setting the drivers for my Nema 23 type-57 3 amp, and wiring the drivers, DDCSV and, later, limit switches.


Cheers
Sean

Rye
23-02-2018, 06:27 PM
My CY cable has arrived so I've wired the x,y,z to the drivers:

23810

23811

I've left the shielding on each cable because I'm unsure about the following: Should the shielding on the A+A-/B+B- side of the drives for the motors go to the drives DC ground - or should they go to the AC earth star-point? Asking because I've seen images where people wire their shielding here to the DC ground on their drives. But I've also read that all shielded cables should go to AC earth star-point - and not DC ground.

JAZZCNC
23-02-2018, 07:04 PM
I've left the shielding on each cable because I'm unsure about the following: Should the shielding on the A+A-/B+B- side of the drives for the motors go to the drives DC ground - or should they go to the AC earth star-point? Asking because I've seen images where people wire their shielding here to the DC ground on their drives. But I've also read that all shielded cables should go to AC earth star-point - and not DC ground.

All grounds should go back to AC Star earth point.

Rye
24-02-2018, 02:20 PM
Cheers Jazz. Earths to the shielding added:

23812

Have to get my head around wiring the other side of the drives now:

PLS+
PLS -
DIR+
DIR -

Knocked a temporary cable up with a jumper from DIR+ to PLS +

23813
23814

Can the DIR+ be daisy chained to each drive's DIR+?

Clive S
24-02-2018, 03:20 PM
Can the DIR+ be daisy chained to each drive's DIR+?

Of course.

Rye
24-02-2018, 08:03 PM
Thanks Clive. I think I've done it right. Well, I hope I have :)

23817

Clive S
24-02-2018, 10:29 PM
Moy Bien

Rye
26-02-2018, 12:16 PM
Too cold to be in the shed cutting aluminium for the rest of the box, so I've made a start wiring the steppers on the DDCS:

23834

Couldn't be bothered with soldering, so got me two 37pin D-Sub breakout boards: one for the main box, one for the DDCS box(when I get around to making it). Takes up more room, but easier than soldering 37 pins :)

23835

Rye
12-03-2018, 03:06 PM
Found a little time to continue with this. The main box is pretty much done. Admittedly, it's all a bit tatty and meccano..ish, but it'll do for the shed wall. All powers up fine, just need to tidy the wiring before I wire the D-Sub for the limit switches.

23900

23901

Still need to make the box for the DDCS. The DDCS powers up, but have to wire the MPG/switches. estop, pump-switch and possibly one or two other things. Going to try wiring up first to see if it all works.
Dang! Where do I start :(

23902

Might need some help wiring the 5 position rotary switches for X,Y,Z and 1x, 10x, 100x on the MPG control.

Rye
25-03-2018, 12:49 PM
Had a slight change of plans on the design for some of this, but the wiring and everything is coming together quite nicely.

23984

23985

Nr1madman
30-03-2018, 07:27 AM
Looks awesome!

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk

Rye
14-04-2018, 12:50 PM
Thanks madman. For my first attempt at doing anything like this, I'm quite pleased at how its turned out. And more than pleased that I haven't burnt my shed down... yet :)


Had a lot of "fun" re-wiring all the limits on my 6040 yesterday. Wired the pump and probe, too. They are all working with the controller.

24059

Apart from tidying a few things up, I'm pretty much done. Just the spindle to wire. Was going to buy a new VFD, but to save me 80 quid I've decided to use the Nowforever VFD from the old control box.

On the underside the VFD has terminals for R S E U V W.

24062

I've traced the wires back and the R and S power inputs go back to, what looks like, an EMI filter. The filter looks like it goes back to the 240v AC mains power. I'm guessing I should re-use that filter, but I'm also not sure that I must use it (I've seen people use VFDs without one).

I take it that R=live, S = Neutral. Guessing that E = Earth - although it wasn't wired in my old box (Also found my spindle wasn't earthed to pin 4.)
I take it that U = pin 1 on the spindle, V = pin 2, and W = pin 3.

Spindle control on the Nowforever uses the terminals behind the hatch:

24061

I believe the wiring from the DDCS is as follows:

M3/M5 on DDCS goes to X1 on the Nowforever
Ground on DDCS goes to Com
VSO on DDCS goes to Ain1 (10v)

Any help/advice or corrections with the above, appreciated.

Clive S
14-04-2018, 02:45 PM
I take it that R=live, S = Neutral. Guessing that E = Earth - although it wasn't wired in my old box (Also found my spindle wasn't earthed to pin 4.)
I take it that U = pin 1 on the spindle, V = pin 2, and W = pin 3.

If you are using cy 4 core cable connect the green/yellow wire to the spindle earth. quite often the pin 4 is not connected to anywhere inside the spindle so check it with a meter to see if it is connect to the case.

re the U,V,W The spindle is 3 phase so they can be connected in any order BUT if you find the spindle in running backwards when forward is commanded then just swap any two of the U,V,W wires and it will run the opposite way.

Rye
14-04-2018, 05:16 PM
Cheers Clive. I've wired the VFD to the mains and it all works. Just need to wire the other cable from the DDCS so I can control the spindle speed from the controller.

Checked pin 4 on the spindle and it's not earthed to its case. The original cable, that I'm still using, is un-shielded 3 core. So this has got me a little worried. That said I've used the machine for the last two years and it hasn't caused any issues.

Was thinking that with the spindle not being earthed, should I just earth the CNC frame to the AC mains earth (the spindle is attached to the aluminium frame of the CNC, so it should be conductive.) What would you, or anyone else, recommend I do?

JAZZCNC
14-04-2018, 06:34 PM
The frame should be earthed anyway even if the spindle isn't. To be honest the spindle not being earthed isn't often a big issue provided the frame is earthed. Just make sure the cable to the spindle is shielded and the shield goes to earth.

Rye
14-04-2018, 10:50 PM
Thanks for the info Jazz. Started re-wiring the spindle cable. Will earth the frame to the mains tomoz.