PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Newbie (ageing rapidly!)

ManicMetal
23-02-2018, 12:48 AM
Hello all,

I'm new to CNC but I have a fair amount of machining experience over the last 40 years. I am a professional electronics and electrical engineer and former systems programmer (a long time back).

I have a mill that I am converting to CNC if I can ever get a motion controller to work. I'm on the fourth one now (from different manufacturers) and have tried each on both a Windows 10 (freshly installed) laptop and an old indestructible Toughbook XP machine (that ideally I want to use for the CNC).

I'm ageing rapidly as nothing I have tried so far does what the suppliers claim. The instructions are just plain wrong in most cases and the software seems hopeless. I'm four months and several hundred hours into this project now and losing the will to live!

I would be most grateful if anyone can recommend a USB motion controller for Mach3 that actually works. Or should I give up on Mach3 and use something else?

Your thoughts, words of encouragement or sympathy gratefully received

EddyCurrent
23-02-2018, 10:08 AM
Which motion controllers have you tried so far then ?

When you say systems programmer are you referring to PDP-11 type equipment ?

ManicMetal
23-02-2018, 01:10 PM
Professionally, mostly IBM 370s, IBM Series 1 some PDP and VAX-11s, Various Micros: SC/MP, 6502, 6809, 68000
My own first computer had 256 bytes of RAM and controlled my model railway.

Ah for the days when computers did as they were told!

So far I've tried:
A breakout board that the supplier claimed would work on either USB or parallel but they actually meant it could be powered from USB (I know rookie mistake).

A UC-100 added to the breakout board, no life signs. No activity on the USB.

A Chinese USB motion controller that they said would work with Mach3 but later confessed only worked with their own proprietary software. Not that I could get that to work either.