PDA

View Full Version : BUILD LOG: 8x4 Build based on plans by Joescnc Hybrid R&P

GrahamWhite
19-03-2018, 11:58 AM
Hi all :)
My name is Graham and I'm new to all things cnc,got a 3d printer I built from a kit though so cnc on a very small scale then!
I'm starting a build based on plans I bought from Joescnc website- now I know not everyone will like or agree with the build materials and I definitely would like to spend a lot more on the build .... the wife says no!
So in the whole it will come from the plans but I'm hoping maybe there will be some input along the way as well.
As I said it's based on plans that once bought gives access to the builders forum and has approx. 250 machines built or being constructed all based off of the plans- giving dxf files/templates for cutting various parts etc.
The plans suggest a welded steel box frame base ,but as I don't weld I opted for a timber base.
Constructed out of structural 18mm ply ready to take the aluminium rails when they arrive.
so a few pictures of things so far then...
As you can see I doubled up on the ply thickness and the box section rails really improved the stability and strength.
The rails fit together like mortice and tenon joints, the long sides are glued to the legs.
The side rails are 10ft long so I extended them on opposite sides at the ends.
The width is 5ft.
I again doubled the ply for the cross rails and screwed them in dry so take down is possible for relocation if needed.
so this is where I am at now-
The front rails are bolted with nylock nuts.
I also scooped the front rails to allow an 8x4 board to go between the legs for storage, still need to add some rails yet.
With a few sheets stored under there is should add some considerable weight.
The legs have screw adjusters on them for levelling.
So that's where I'm at now, I have some aluminium profile on order which I'm hoping will be with me soon.

JAZZCNC
19-03-2018, 03:13 PM
I posted on another thread but I'll comment here as well.