PDA

View Full Version : Control box rebuild

Palletlad
13-05-2018, 01:23 PM
Progress on my first rebuild of my control box.
Initial photo shows what I started with on my 6040.
This is my first time wiring up anything other than a plug and never used solder before either so was a nice experience.
The 2nd photo which looks very messy was my first attempt at wiring everything and discovered I had two wires touching that fried a stepper motor.
The 3rd photo is me finished for now I've rewired the sheilded wires properly with heat shrink and a better job at soldering.
Thank you to you guys aswell for your input and advice.
Next step will be to wire the vfd to get mach3 controlling it.

Palletlad
16-05-2018, 12:45 PM
Update I have a fault with the Y axis only going in one direction when jogging both left and right arrows.
I have fault tested all the wires, motors and different setups and pinpointed it to the breakout board itself.
initially I presumed it was my wiring so swapped the green connector plugs on X axis and Y axis and the result was X would only go in one direction and Y became crippled in movement. at this point I got confused and fault tested everything finding the motors, wires and drivers all worked perfectly when not wired to the Y axis pins on the breakout board.
I tried different settings on Y axis as well in mach3 thinking it could be a settings issue but no luck however I am no expert on mach3.
Does anyone recognise this issue or have any suggestions or is it possibly there is a physical fault with the pins on the breakout board?

john swift
16-05-2018, 04:39 PM
other posts I have read have had problems due to faulty breakout boards
others have had problems with chinese copies of other manufactures usb motion controllers
going by your photo you may have to either try another BOB or connect the BOB to a PC parallel printer port

John

Palletlad
16-05-2018, 05:37 PM