PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations for stepper motor debug / repair

Cotswold Woody
04-08-2018, 07:46 PM
Hi all,
I have a home made (not by me) cnc which I have been using for 5 years with no problems. Yesterday one of the stepper motors stopped working so I only have a y & z axis. The motor makes its usual wizzing & whistling noises but the spindle doesn't move. I am looking for someone, preferably in the Britol/Bath/South West area who could troubleshoot & hopefully fix the stepper. I am wondering if it could be the controller though? Any help, advice, pointers gratefully appreciated. The motor is a Sanyo Denki 103H89222-5241.
Thanks.
Steve

MikeyC38
04-08-2018, 09:23 PM
Hi all,
I have a home made (not by me) cnc which I have been using for 5 years with no problems. Yesterday one of the stepper motors stopped working so I only have a y & z axis. The motor makes its usual wizzing & whistling noises but the spindle doesn't move. I am looking for someone, preferably in the Britol/Bath/South West area who could troubleshoot & hopefully fix the stepper. I am wondering if it could be the controller though? Any help, advice, pointers gratefully appreciated. The motor is a Sanyo Denki 103H89222-5241.
Thanks.
Steve

Hi Steve

Just for testing you could swap the y or x axis stepper for the z axis and if the z axis works correctly, then you know it is the stepper motor which is faulty. As far as I know, there is no repair you could do and it would be simpler to replace the stepper with a new one. If the same thing happens then check is the connection between your z axis ballscrew and the stepper motor. This could be slipping. After that, check the stepper motor cabling etc. The standard type of fault checking process. Check every element in the connection from pc to z axis.

Hope this helps.

Mike

magicniner
04-08-2018, 11:19 PM
Could be anything.
Photos and details?
Guessing otherwise!

Cotswold Woody
05-08-2018, 08:35 AM
Thanks for the reply Mike.