PDA

View Full Version : Problems with a new 3040 machine



Lennewton
12-09-2018, 12:00 PM
Hi all,

I am new to CNC but I have always been interested in machining.
Last week I got a 3040 DQ with usb and thought it would be ok for a start but am a little annoyed to find basic problems.
The instructions are not clear and are in broken English, the left hand linear bearing was fitted the wrong way around, and when moving on the y axis quite noisy the grease nipple had made a nasty groove along the inside of the left rail.
I have removed the nipple just to carry out some test runs and found a problem with the x axis this is not accurate and very noisy especially when changing direction.
I have swapped the x and y connections over on the controller and the problem moves to the y axis, the x axis is then smooth.
From my basic knowledge it seems to be a stepper controller or a software issue, can anyone advise.

Many thanks

Len

cropwell
12-09-2018, 06:35 PM
Have you checked the microstep settings for the drivers. Really we need more detail to help. Photos would be good.

Lennewton
12-09-2018, 07:41 PM
Thanks for the reply,
Sorry for the lack of info but I didn’t know what you might need.
I’m using the program that came with the machine which is CNC USB, I think it’s part of Planet CNC perhaps not ideal but I am using a laptop with a USB ports only and no D25 printer port.
My x y and z axis are set at 400.000 steps per unit the initial speed is set at 100.00 and the acceleration is set at 15.000
The feed speed is 250.00 and the Traverse is at 500.00
I have checked the movement on all three axis with a digital DTI and the y and z are both repeatedly correct and nice and smooth and quite.
But the z drive is clunky and noisy and not accurate if you set 10.0000 mm you may get 11.89 or 11.08 it’s different on each run.
I hope this is of help.

Many thanks Len.

cropwell
12-09-2018, 09:24 PM
OK, so you can move the problem about by swapping connectors on the control box. This, to me, indicates that the problem is not mechanical.

From your first post, I get the implication that the machine, controller and software is a Chinese clone of the Planet CNC. So I would be getting into territory which I have no experience. Sorry, but I will have to pass on this problem. I hope someone else can help you.

Lennewton
13-09-2018, 06:22 AM
Again Much appreciated for having a look,
The controller has a serial port and a USB port so maybe I might resurrect one of my old computers and load Mach 3, this will test the software.

Many thanks Len.

Clive S
13-09-2018, 07:57 AM
Again Much appreciated for having a look,
The controller has a serial port and a USB port so maybe I might resurrect one of my old computers and load Mach 3, this will test the software.

Many thanks Len.

Are you sure it has a serial port !!

Lennewton
13-09-2018, 08:15 AM
Sorry I ment a parallel port.

ravihotwok
12-10-2018, 12:56 PM
hi mate, I also have a 3040 which i have modified and found all sorts of problems which are now rectified

ravihotwok
12-10-2018, 12:58 PM
I had issues with the axis which turned out to be a number of problems, first was the software which I binned off and bought planet cnc. Then their instructions were much more easy to follow and set up the machine in regards to steps per mm etc

I also opted to buy one of their control boxes as the control box which comes with your machine is basically all made up of counterfeit boards which proved to be unreliable. My box didnt work from the word go.

But now I am getting awesome results

ravihotwok
12-10-2018, 12:59 PM
I recently made a carbon fibre sheet, then engraved it and filled the engraving with paint, will dig out a vid

ravihotwok
12-10-2018, 01:13 PM
https://www.youtube.com/edit?ar=1&o=U&video_id=PwqoYwrSU40

AndyGuid
13-10-2018, 03:47 AM
https://www.youtube.com/edit?ar=1&o=U&video_id=PwqoYwrSU40

That link doesn't work for me Ravi?

ravihotwok
15-10-2018, 09:40 AM
That link doesn't work for me Ravi?

https://www.youtube.com/edit?ar=1&o=U&video_id=PwqoYwrSU40

ravihotwok
15-10-2018, 09:43 AM
just realised that link is the same lol, will double check its a public vid :-)

ravihotwok
15-10-2018, 09:44 AM
https://youtu.be/PwqoYwrSU40

Lennewton
16-10-2018, 12:11 PM
Hi Ravi
Sorry for not replying sooner but have been busy machining parts for my gas turbine.
I see you have carried out some serious mods to your machine and I am pleased you have got it working.
I have downloaded Mach 3 and connected it with a parellel port, the only problem I have now is the emergency stop wonít let me do any machining as it comes up with emergency mode active when I connect to the CNC controller.
The only reason for using Mach 3 is I have an old boxford TCL 125 lathe and a
Wizzard 2000 st engraving machine to hopefully get working and I would use the Mach software for all three machines.

If I donít get any luck with the software Iíll ask the question on the forum.

Many thanks Len.

Voltatek
20-12-2018, 03:19 PM
Hi all,

I am new to CNC but I have always been interested in machining.
Last week I got a 3040 DQ with usb and thought it would be ok for a start but am a little annoyed to find basic problems.
The instructions are not clear and are in broken English, the left hand linear bearing was fitted the wrong way around, and when moving on the y axis quite noisy the grease nipple had made a nasty groove along the inside of the left rail.
I have removed the nipple just to carry out some test runs and found a problem with the x axis this is not accurate and very noisy especially when changing direction.
I have swapped the x and y connections over on the controller and the problem moves to the y axis, the x axis is then smooth.
From my basic knowledge it seems to be a stepper controller or a software issue, can anyone advise.

Many thanks

Len

Please see the axis configuration for Mach3 . I share my dropbox folder where you can find the manual I used for configuring the 3040 cnc.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mae2sb1cfalmzd8/AADrSL06EdU5Q-8yXGBEXauja?dl=0

Lennewton
25-12-2018, 06:40 PM
Hi Voltatek,
Thanks for the help, and I have tried using Mach3 with a parallel port connection.
All I get is as soon as I switch the machine on all three motors lock up and the program runs as can be seen on the Mach3 display but no movement on the X,Y or Z.
So I have tried a newer computer using a USB connector, this seems to have fixed my original fault.
Many thanks Len.

dale74
03-07-2019, 04:30 PM
When you say 'the control box which comes with your machine' do you mean the big black box with the spindle control and emergency stop (which doesn't work) on the front?

magicniner
03-07-2019, 05:25 PM
I have downloaded Mach 3 and connected it with a parellel port, the only problem I have now is the emergency stop won’t let me do any machining as it comes up with emergency mode active when I connect to the CNC controller.

Toggle the active state for Emergency Stop in Mach3 to override that.

Lennewton
03-07-2019, 05:42 PM
Thanks I’ll have a go at that.
Many thanks Len.