PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: lots of questions

jsa2001
29-09-2009, 02:15 AM
Hi i'm a total noob and have been trying to get infor on buying a mini milling machine and turning it into cnc.

Im looking at buying a Shirline milling machine, it's size is right for what i need it for. Has anyone used these?

I would like to convert it to cnc with a ready to go or plug and play kits as it were, I believe these are available for this machine, roughly how much would these kits cost? I know these use NEMA #23 motors.

I dont want to write code initially or do i have to, to make cnc parts? Can the software generate the programming code for me?

I have Rhino2 from years ago, i have no problem with making 3D images with graphics software or computers.

Sorry for the questions i have so many.

Thanks

irving2008
29-09-2009, 10:19 AM
Hi i'm a total noob and have been trying to get infor on buying a mini milling machine and turning it into cnc.

Im looking at buying a Shirline milling machine, it's size is right for what i need it for. Has anyone used these?

I would like to convert it to cnc with a ready to go or plug and play kits as it were, I believe these are available for this machine, roughly how much would these kits cost? I know these use NEMA #23 motors.

I dont want to write code initially or do i have to, to make cnc parts? Can the software generate the programming code for me?

I have Rhino2 from years ago, i have no problem with making 3D images with graphics software or computers.

Sorry for the questions i have so many.

Thanks

Hi jsa2001

Google is your friend... or see this thread

Basically a CNC Kit for a CNC-ready Sherline Mill is around $250 or about the same in GBP once shipped into UK. You might be better off buying the thing ready-converted as it may be cheaper (unless you are buying a secondhand mill)