PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Hello Everyone

Robrant
01-10-2009, 09:18 PM
Hello all,

I知 from East Devon and been dabbling in this and that for years, I work in IT so also need to get out a bit more.

Sorry to ask a question straight off, and if this isn稚 the right place let me know.

Am starting to get some parts together to make a simple CNC Mill, by small I mean A4 size cutting area.
Trawled through hundreds of threads, got confused, excited then more confused and am now spending some money on it.

I bought a used System 3 board from DIY CNC and am looking at some cheap stepper motors from eBay, I知 not sure of what voltage I should be looking at or how this is set on the System3 board yet.
Spindle wise I知 thinking TR10x2D Trapezoidal may be overkill and I値l try some B&Q threaded bar, I値l make my own Delrin nuts.

The whole project is more experimenting and learning than wanting to produce anything.

Any pointers greatly appreciated.

Regards
Rob

irving2008
01-10-2009, 10:16 PM
Hello all,

I知 from East Devon and been dabbling in this and that for years, I work in IT so also need to get out a bit more.

Sorry to ask a question straight off, and if this isn稚 the right place let me know.

Am starting to get some parts together to make a simple CNC Mill, by small I mean A4 size cutting area.
Trawled through hundreds of threads, got confused, excited then more confused and am now spending some money on it.

I bought a used System 3 board from DIY CNC and am looking at some cheap stepper motors from eBay, I知 not sure of what voltage I should be looking at or how this is set on the System3 board yet.
Spindle wise I知 thinking TR10x2D Trapezoidal may be overkill and I値l try some B&Q threaded bar, I値l make my own Delrin nuts.

The whole project is more experimenting and learning than wanting to produce anything.

Any pointers greatly appreciated.

Regards
Rob

Hi Rob,