PDA

View Full Version : CNC conversion possibilities for a newbie

DaveC
05-08-2019, 03:31 PM
As previously mentioned I am pretty new to CNC but have the bug pretty bad.
I would really like to do a lathe conversion myself as a learning process but not sure where to begin learning.
How did everybody else get started and where is the best place to begin without constantly hassling people for help with daft questions.
For instance can anybody recommend any books, magazines clubs, courses etc to get me started as a beginner.
I have a wabeco mill and very small Denford lathe running mach3 but these were already converted before I bought them.
I am more than happy with the mill and it does all that I require however the lathe was bought mearly as a learning tool to get me started.
My project EVENTUALLY !! would be a conversion on a harrison m250 with the intension of keeping the machine indefinitely. Is this idea completely un realistic. I obviously don't expect to start next week and have it done by christmas but more of a looong term learning and build project.
I have suitable equipment for the manufacture of certain parts but not the electrical and CNC knowledge. With the range of parts processors, controllers, doodads and whatnots etc etc it seems a mountain to climb but everybody has to start somewhere.
I know its a big idea but it is one I really want to get into.
Any help greatly appreciated

Dave

Chaz
05-08-2019, 05:02 PM
As someone who has done a few machines now (both retrofit and new machines), start with Budget and expectation. That will drive most of your decisions.

Do you want cheap and cheerful (can be crap) or something more reliable (but costs more)?

Standalone controller (or not)?

Steppers, hybrid steppers or servos?

Good place to start.

routercnc
05-08-2019, 07:11 PM
You are in good hands with Chaz as he made a nice job of the last one (see his recent post on the Harrison 300)