PDA

View Full Version : mach3 help

D-man
11-10-2009, 02:38 PM
Hi guys, i recently bought a packge from zap ( http://www.slidesandballscrews.com/axis-nema-p-250.html?cPath=58&osCsid=a522752a77d620cbfc3686e83ee840f8 ) with the uniport.

For some reason i cant for the life of me get it to run/turn my motors.

does anyone have the same set up who would like to share the .xml file?

regards
Derek

lateAtNight
11-10-2009, 04:49 PM
I have an optoport which looks to be the same thing setup wise.

Have you configured any of the output pins? Mach needs to know which pins are are for which axes, they are also all disabled by default when your first install i think. You need to go to Conifg > Pins and Ports and click on the motor tab.

Good reading:
http://www.finelinehair.com/home/Mach3Mill_Setup.pdf

and also the datasheet for the Uniport which tells you which pins are which.
http://www.slidesandballscrews.com/pdf/uniport.pdf

I'm a beginner with Mach myself... I only set it up (still am) about a week ago.

Also, pressing TAB brings up the jog window

Hope that helps,

Dave.

D-man
12-10-2009, 10:08 AM
Yeah i have configured the pins to the best of my knowledge. I got the pin numbers from the Uniport board manual.

Even the Jog option doesnt move them they just buzz alot and hold the torque.

Did you set the pins on your drivers?

D-man
12-10-2009, 10:08 AM
im starting to wonder if my LPT port is broke. is there anyway to test it?

irving2008
12-10-2009, 10:44 AM
im starting to wonder if my LPT port is broke. is there anyway to test it?Try a different LPT cable, there have been many examples where a supposedly good cable was the culprit...

lateAtNight
12-10-2009, 11:12 AM
Good idea on the cable...