PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Hello everyone

ken@accujet
13-10-2009, 11:53 AM
Hi guys,
Just stumbled across your site, extremely interesting. I have been using CNC machines professionally for the last 25 years, mostly turning and milling but a few other weird ones like cnc gear grinding and hobbing. Now I am heavily into waterjet profiling and have a small precision waterjet engineering company in Dorset.
I have particular respect for everyone building there own machines, something that takes a very rounded knowledge of the subject to achieve.
I look forward to meeting you all and following your builds.

Cheers,

Ken

audioandy
13-10-2009, 03:07 PM
Ken Welcome to the forum :beer:

Andy

Kn8
13-10-2009, 05:13 PM
Hello ken, welcome. :wave:

ken@accujet
14-10-2009, 08:13 AM
Thanks very much for the warm welcome.

Lee Roberts
14-10-2009, 06:44 PM
Hi Ken, what a nice introduction...pleased to meet you to mate!

I'm new to cnc really Ken and i have my first question for you, what is hobbing ?

I think you maybe our first waterjet guy to!, welcome to the site !

lateAtNight
14-10-2009, 08:51 PM
Hi Ken,

Welcome, its good to see this place has got another long timer. More people to tell us newbies what to do :beer:.

I'm new to CNC myself... I've managed to put together a little mill / router with the help of some people I met here, and I'm just putting the finishing touches to it.

Lee, hobbing is a cool way of making gears. Youtube it. I once asked HPC Gears to quote me the price of a hob and it was going to be something like £850 without VAT! Aahahahah. I think it was so expensive because they were going to make it especially... you do get them cheaper though... where from I don't know though.

m.marino
14-10-2009, 09:00 PM
Welcome to the site and have fun watching the learning curve. I am on it and it is steep at times. But hey the more you want out of life the steeper it is.

ken@accujet
15-10-2009, 08:14 AM