PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Why CNC?

saxonhawthorn
10-12-2009, 11:10 AM
Hello People,

I'm a retired software engineer and like many who have spent their working lives pondering the invisible workings of processor internals, I feel the need now to make things with my hands as well as my head. So I have bought a 7 x 14 mini-lathe and of course I already have a decent bench drill, and I'm currently in the happy process of fitting out the rest of my tiny workshop.

Now it's clear from this site that CNC holds attractions for many hobby machinists, but can somebody explain to me why? Surely CNC makes sense only if you're going to make products in quantity on a production basis? No doubt I'm missing something here, but may I ask "What exactly are all these CNC wood and metal routers going to make in such quantity that it's worth all the trouble and expense of going from manual machining to CNC?"

Looking forward to being enlightened.

Ian in Banbury :confused:

ptjw7uk
10-12-2009, 11:39 AM
I think there is more than one answer to this question.
First I think saying cnc is only good for production runs is wrong in concept, it can make single items quicker and easier than by manual means.
The manual method will entail the production of jigs etc to get the required shape and jigs again are usually in the realm of production whereas the cnc jig is the drawing program.
Why use a machine at all most things can be made by hand tools and lots of effort, but if you like tools make a cnc mill or router nad then you can make even more tools.
Most people on the forum are doing it as a hobby or as an idea to make money etc. Its ones imagination that wins in the end and if you have to justify it then dont do it just go down the pub.
It all depends on whether its the journey you enjoy or just the destination, I for one enjoy it all and am not at all sure it will do what I want in the end but I'm not going to stop because I cant see the end in sight!