PDA

View Full Version : Hello - Kerry lathe from ebay

Bossco101
05-01-2010, 10:59 PM
Hello, my name is Tim and I am a very amateur lathe user. Just to show how amateur I went and bought a Kerry lathe from ebay and and now discovered the cross-slide has been shortened and keeps locking up tight when I turn it.

I was wondering if anyone here had a Kerry AG model C lathe or details of a complete cross slide assembly that I could get copied.

I know its an oldie, but its fine except for that and I don't know what else to do?

Thanks

Tim

ptjw7uk
05-01-2010, 11:21 PM
Hi Bossco101,
Some info on the lathes at link below.
http://www.lathes.co.uk/kerry/
Have you checked the gib adjustment on the slide they are situated on the rear face of the slide, they should be adjusted to allow free movement with minimum slop.

peter

BillTodd
05-01-2010, 11:35 PM
As Peter say above plus,

It might be worth removing and checking the cross-slide lead-screw and nut for damage and swarf, check the slide ways with the lead-screw removed, it should slide freely

That Kerry looks a purposeful device :)

Post some pictures of the slide, if you can, it'll help to determine what's actually been changed.

P.S. I know a guy with a Kerry (His is one of the lathes pictured on Tony's site) I'm sure he'd be willing to help you with anything specific.

irving2008
05-01-2010, 11:38 PM
Hello, my name is Tim and I am a very amateur lathe user. Just to show how amateur I went and bought a Kerry lathe from ebay and and now discovered the cross-slide has been shortened and keeps locking up tight when I turn it.

I was wondering if anyone here had a Kerry AG model C lathe or details of a complete cross slide assembly that I could get copied.

I know its an oldie, but its fine except for that and I don't know what else to do?

Thanks

Tim

Tim, welcome

That wasn't the one on eBay about 2 or 3 months back? they dont come up very often...

Bossco101
06-01-2010, 10:24 AM
Thank you for the warm welcome !