View Full Version : Has Anyone ever used one of these before?

09-03-2010, 01:00 AM
Has anyone used or seen one of these before, if so what are your thoughts on it, as im pondering in using one with 4 servos and a VHF Spindle it looks like it has plenty of input and outputs!

MachMotion's IO6 BOB (http://www.machmotion.com/Parts-&-Accessories-Breakout-Boards/c36_26/p158/MachMotion&%2339s-IO6-Breakout-Board/product_info.html#top)

09-03-2010, 07:17 AM
Is it me but it appears to be on the pricey side as I assume you will need drivers for the servos.
The price will be in the 300 bracket in UK.
Has lots of connectors so should make fitting easy.
Not much help I know but if you are going down the VHF spindle route then it will be small beer in the scheme of things.

09-03-2010, 09:09 AM
Just a thought but if you need lots of inputs/outputs then why not put 2 bob's in like this one - http://www.diycnc.co.uk/html/pcpps.html

You will have to put a second parallel port card in your pc anyway to drive the IO6 so it will end up working very similar. The two bob's will be on separate parallel ports so you can set the inputs and outputs up separately in mach3. Never tried it though!

Another option is to use just 1 bob for the main inputs/outputs and also a standard parallel port connector which you can solder the wires straight to the back for any additional input outputs you need, never had the need to do this either but I know a man that has!

Oh, you might need one of these to make driving your spindle a little easier... - http://www.diycnc.co.uk/html/spindle_2.html

09-03-2010, 12:22 PM
If you are wanting more I/O you could always go down the Modbus route, I have purchased a Cubloc system like this one

http://www.henriksplace.se/cnc/cnc_mach3_modbus_1.html but I have not had time to impliment it yet.

The units are now available here in the UK http://www.audon.co.uk/cb405.html#expansion

Going this route might give you more scope for future upgrades to your system.

09-03-2010, 03:34 PM
Thanks guys, alls im planning on doing is running 2 servos for my X, 1 for my Y and 1 for my Z and a channel to control my VHF Spindle, im after the simplest plug n play option out there, but it need scope for future add-ons. how would i wire to X servo drives up using a BOB, could i just take a single step and direction output and split it off to both drives to keep them synchronised or can i use individual channels and somehow configure it in mach3 setup?

07-04-2010, 12:09 AM
Ive been found out that i need i fast control interface i.e like smoothstepper but as a few of you know this has its own problems. or should i say bug. but having looked at the board i mentioned at the start of the post it appear that this board drives servos ok and via to parallel ports, im unsure about it tho. having found out that your standard LPT has a max of 100khz and i need 500khz to achieve 3000rpm. can any of you boffins :tongue: see if and how this IO6 board can control servos properly.