PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: ello

zedwizz
16-05-2010, 10:20 PM
Hi,

I'm a sheet metal worker by trade looking to get into CNC. I've used manual bridge ports and lathes in my time and have had an interest in the CNC side of things. I was made redundant last year and have spent my spare time teaching myself solidworks CAD. I have designed a few projects, which comprises of Perspex components and PCB circuit boards and now need a way of making them in Quantity. I am looking to build my own CNC mill so I thought it would be a good idea to join a club and get some advice before I start.

I am a complete beginner so any advice or suggestions on plans, materials and parts to build a CNC mill would be great.

thanks

John S
16-05-2010, 10:30 PM
Welcome Zed, why don't you add a name and location, there is often local knowlege from members wiling to share if we know where you are based.

zedwizz
16-05-2010, 10:37 PM
ok John will do

zedwizz
17-05-2010, 09:36 PM
Is anyone there?

zedwizz
17-05-2010, 09:37 PM
is anybody willing to help?

John S
17-05-2010, 09:59 PM
Wot with ??

Gizza clue what you want to do / cut / make etc.

Are you looking for a router or a cnc mill ?

zedwizz
18-05-2010, 06:39 AM
Wot with ??

Gizza clue what you want to do / cut / make etc.

Are you looking for a router or a cnc mill ?

There are a few clues in my first post to what i wanted to cut like 'Perspex' ever heard of it? A bit like glass but not. And 'PCB circuit boards' speaks for its self dont it?

Also i was asking about plans you know as in 'construction plans' i.e DIY, build it yourself, home built, dont buy one make one that sort of thing.

Am i looking for a router of a cnc mill? I dont know i'd thought i'd ask you guys!!

I was just looking for some advice on plans that are avalible on the internet or ebay or whereever so i can build a low cost cnc to cut out Perspex designs and PCB circuit boards.

irving2008
18-05-2010, 07:41 AM
OK, sarcasm aside, more information needed...