PDA

View Full Version : Anybody used these linear bearings before?

pjl83
07-06-2010, 05:45 PM
Hi All,

I've been looking at the RS Drylin N linear bearings for my A4 size wood router. It's my first build and I'm using it as a learning curve so I'm trying to keep the cost down as much as possible as I'll probably build a larger table in the future when I hopefully have more money.

I spoke to a guy at work who's used them before but in another application and he says they are a decent, I just wondered if anybody had used them on a homebuilt cnc router.

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=retrieveTfg&binCount=16&Ne=4294957561&Ntt=n+bearings&Ntk=I18NAll&Nr=AND(avl:uk,searchDiscon_uk:N)&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial&N=4294954312&Nty=1

Any thoughts?
Thanks
Paul

irving2008
07-06-2010, 05:59 PM
These are the IGUS (http://www.igus.co.uk/default.asp?PAGE=DRYLIN)ones, generally quite well thought of. Supposedly very good in a dusty, woody, environment. I know several people have looked at them, dont know if anyone has used them.

John S
07-06-2010, 07:12 PM
We fitted them some years ago to replace ball bushings on a laser cutter that was plauged by dust and grit from the cutting process getting into the ball bushing.

The drylin ones cured all this.

Somewhere I have some linear tables, with rails and bushings, not A4 but the rails could be extended.

http://www.stevenson-engineers.co.uk/files/slide1.jpg

http://www.stevenson-engineers.co.uk/files/slide2.jpg

http://www.stevenson-engineers.co.uk/files/slide3.jpg

irving2008
07-06-2010, 08:30 PM
Oh would make a nice base for a PCB mill....

pjl83
07-06-2010, 10:40 PM
Hi John, you have a PM.

Thanks for the link Irving. I do't know enough about my machine yet to fill in all of the ratings to get all the way through the steps. I'll save the link for future reference.