PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Wood Lathe - fitments

Musochasle
09-08-2010, 08:24 AM
Hi,

I recently bought a work bench and attached to it was a wood lathe which I'd like to start using it.

It has come only with centres and no faceplate so I'm trying to work out what size thread it's likely to have. There is a peel off label (most of which is missing) which has the letters SGS but I can't find any info on SGS wood lathes on-line - does anyone know anything about them, i.e. is it likely to be metric or imperial thread ? Is the company still in existence? The lathe has a large Gryphon motor if that helps. I have attached a photo.

As you can probably tell I'm very new to this so any thoughts would be most appreciated. Thank you.

John S
09-08-2010, 08:33 AM
Looks home made to me, it doesn't even have a bed as such.
It's probably been built from off the shelf components like a Picador spindle, that rusty drive centre looks like it's been made from an ordinary nut. can you unscrew this and measure the thread under ir ?

Musochasle
09-08-2010, 09:08 AM
That is possible, the bed has been sawn in two to accomodate bannister rails!! It is rusty indeed but not beyond recovery (I believe) to a mad person like me who likes getting things working! I have dismounted the lathe at the moment and the nut is awaiting the WD40 to work so I'll try what you suggest and post back. Many thanks.

GeorgeD
09-08-2010, 12:45 PM
This definatly homemade,you can tell by the crude nature of the thingand the pillow blocks look new.

SGS is probably just the initials of the person that made it?

Musochasle
09-08-2010, 01:43 PM
In that case should I look for manufacturers names on the pulleys and chisel post to get a clue about replacement parts etc.? Or are there companies which sell parts for a "build-your-own"?

The lathe was kind of free with a 4' X 2' bench which also had a (now repaired) Record No. 52 vice - all for £7.50! so I don't mind spending a bit to get it going.

GeorgeD