PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: New Introduction

craftcadet
26-08-2010, 04:30 PM
Hi Everyone

My Name Tony and I in live in Tunbridge Wells, Kent. I am a complete novice when it comes to cnc and hope to learn a great deal here. I begining to build my first cnc machine. I have built this driver circuit -

http://www.instructables.com/id/Easy-to-build-CNC-Mill-Stepper-Motor-and-Driver-ci/?&sort=NEWEST&limit=40&offset=480

and have succesfuly got it working, now to build the machine!

I am a keen craftsman and excited about learning new skills. I work in a theatre where I make Jewellery and Headresses for opera and ballet.

Looking forward to this cnc thing

Cheers
Tony

Lee Roberts
26-08-2010, 04:45 PM
Hi welcome to the site, your membership has been accepted.

Regards,
Lee

irving2008
27-08-2010, 11:51 AM
Hi Tony and welcome.

Dont wish to dampen your enthusiasm but have you got any thoughts about the size/capability of the machine you are going to build? The unipolar drivers you mention are fine for a very small machine, maybe thats what you want for jewellery, but will quickly run out of capability for anything larger...

craftcadet
27-08-2010, 12:24 PM
Hi Tony and welcome.

Dont wish to dampen your enthusiasm but have you got any thoughts about the size/capability of the machine you are going to build? The unipolar drivers you mention are fine for a very small machine, maybe thats what you want for jewellery, but will quickly run out of capability for anything larger...

Thanks fo the welcome

I have been reading though the forum and am beginning to realise that i may be going down the many roads that lead to dead ends that many others and stumbled upon. Ok thankfully I have not as yet built the machine so can start smaller. Here is what i intended to build :-

Mill for Wood and aluminum

X axis = 600mm
y axis = 600mm
z axis = 300mm