PDA

View Full Version : Total novice and lost

sfallan
03-09-2010, 09:29 PM
Hello to all,

Having recently purchased a second hand cnc router the bits and pieces arrived by courier today.

Less than impressed by the state of the machine as bolts had worked there way loose etc in transit.

Attached are some images of the router but the main question I have is how do I connect the controller to the pc. The controller has a male connector and my pc also has a male connector.

Any help would be apprecited.

routercnc
03-09-2010, 10:26 PM
Sounds like you might need a gender changer for the parallel port lead:
http://www.diskdepot.co.uk/acatalog/belkin-gender-changer-parallel-port-centronics-db25-type-db-belkin-01592.htm#aAU_2dBELKIN_2d01592

When you get going you might one some of these to tidy up the wiring:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/IGUS-ENERGY-CHAIN-16mm-X-15-mm-1800mm-long-71-/330466844541?pt=UK_BOI_Industrial_Automation_Contr ol_ET&hash=item4cf15bdf7d

Good luck with it all

John S
03-09-2010, 10:33 PM
Never seen a PC with a male Parallel port.

If it has holes in it then it's female, if it has sticky out pins than it's male.

Biology 101.

sfallan
03-09-2010, 10:47 PM
You quite right, my pc is female and the controller is male. I guess I need to get a cable that is female/male?

irving2008
03-09-2010, 10:53 PM
Yes, but make sure it is wired 1:1 and is not a serial cable. Something like this (http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/1404714/art/cablestar/parallel-printer-cable-25.html) available in 1.5 to 10m lengths

sfallan
03-09-2010, 10:56 PM
Snap, thats just what I was looking at!

John S
03-09-2010, 11:28 PM
Or this one £2.86 plus vat.

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=getProduct&R=0480541

sfallan
04-09-2010, 10:20 AM
Gents,