PDA

View Full Version : Cheapo Leadscrew with minimum accuracy requirement!

Vikash
02-10-2010, 03:30 PM
I'm looking to make a motorized linear system to move a video camera (< 5kg), about 1m long. I'm a total newbie with this kind of thing but I thought a leadscrew and nut would be a good way of doing it.

For the intended use, I guess the accuracy/backlash etc is not really a problem so I'm just looking for something cheap but fairly reliable.

I was thinking of using SS leadscrew as it will be used in a domestic situations including outdoors. Is this 10mm leadscrew: http://www.worldofcnc.com/products.asp?recnumber=231 and this brass nut: http://www.worldofcnc.com/products.asp?recnumber=49 the right sort of thing to use?

Any ideas, cheaper suppliers or help would be appreciated.

V

GeorgeD
02-10-2010, 04:17 PM
For a moving camera(If just surveilance?)Iwouldn't go for a lot of expense ie my choice would be stainless steel M12 threaded rod and associated SSnuts.

http://www.leofixings.com/productdetails.aspx?menulevel=2&level=2&catcode=159&hdnGroupCode=2805&hdnProdCode=LlyOfBxU9vc=#tdimg

irving2008
02-10-2010, 04:26 PM
Well Vikash that will work, depends on the speed you require and what levels of vibration you can withstand. What is your actual requirement?

blackburn mark
02-10-2010, 05:49 PM
hi viklash.... heres my ten bobs worth.... i built somthing similar to carry an SLR but it was for a stop motion animation i was doing so it was hand cranked.... i used a builders level for the rail, cut a toothed printer belt and pinned it to one of the sufaces of the level, used one of the printer pullies as a drive and four small bearings ran on the inside of the builders level... super light weight

if you want it driven.... id use an RC servo with a servo tester with battery pack... dial in the speed and a away you go... your audio will be goosed by the servo but im guessing you allredy knew this