PDA

View Full Version : MDF or Aluminium

rob_colby
24-10-2010, 12:00 AM
Hey guys. I'm fairly new to all this, so forgive me if this may be a slightly stupid question, but......if i were to buy a plan for a cnc router, should i go for an MDF or aluminium construction?

Yes i will be trying to keep the cost down, but is MDF really a decent substitute?

Thanks,
Rob

Lee Roberts
24-10-2010, 12:14 PM
Hi Rob,

I built a Rockcliff Router (http://rockcliffcnc.com/Plans.aspx), the fixed gantry model using MDF. You Can view the build log by going here (http://www.mycncuk.com/forums/showthread.php/7-Rockcliff-Router-Build-MDF).

I need to finish updating my build log with the rest of the pics and so on, if you go with UN supported Linear Rail, please use anything 16mm in diameter or more. I used 12mm rail on my machine and the defection in rail that size was quite allot, I only had to breathe on the machine and the rails would bend.

An MDF machine dose have potential, below is some of the first cuts I did with mine:

Next is my attempt at working with some Ali, apart from the obvious in the picture when the cutter got stuck it also spilt the Z Axis plate right down the middle. In the above pic I was “having a play” with the spindle speed to see what would work and what wouldn’t, when the cutter got stuck it had just gone into the next plunge, for a deeper cut and I had increased the spindle speed.

Everything got jammed up as you can see in the pic and it more or less ripped the machine apart. With that I stripped the machine down and burnt all the wood :lol:.