PDA

View Full Version : Stiff 1610 ballscrews, need help.... asap.

ccmarco
28-11-2010, 10:34 PM
Hi to all,

i'm Marco, from Italy (near Milano) and this is my first effective post.

I'm an electronic designer / firmware developer and after many years (25) spent in industrial and defence sectors, due to the fact that i often deal with electrical motors, power drivers and control software, i progressively got the passion for CNC world.

But let's go toward the problem :

i bought several items from Zapp Automation, including a couple of chinese 1610 ballscrews/ballnut set.

As far as i received the package i tested ballscrews, as more critical parts, founding some problems :

following standard rules and precautions, i screwed the first ballnut on one of two ballscrew, finding immediately some important stiffness.

I gently unscrewed the nut, checked balls in recirculation circuits, repeated the screwing on operation without any improvement.

Then i stepped to the next ballnut, no more luck, even stiffer ...

So i wrote an email to Gary, but being in a hurry with the related CNC project, i started to study the problem.

First action, both ballnut went disassembled, deep cleaned, greased and balls refitted, of course only in recirculation circuits; for some strange reasons, i find this activity funny :lol:

Some improvements, but the movement of both ballnuts were still stiff, sometimes with a periodical law, and still one of two were worst.

I also noticed that along the ballscrew the stiffness ranged noticeably, always in the same way, with both nuts.

With the worst one i limited runs to minimum, to avoid mechanical damages.

Then i have fallen into a spiral of dozens of attempts, changing balls, number of balls, type of grease with mixed results.

Gary's first answer arrived, he informed me about a potential ballscrew brand exchange, with incompatible root diameter for my ballnuts.