PDA

View Full Version : Motion Control drivers and motors

bruce_miranda
08-09-2008, 01:07 PM
I've been converting a Super X1 micro mill in the UK to CNC and have run into a few problems.

I'm using Motion Control Stepper Motors and Drivers and Mach3 to run them but am not getting smooth running of the motors at all.

I have a 40V 10A PSU and the Motors are wired as Bipolar Parallel to the Drivers.

Motors being used http://www.motioncontrolproducts.co.uk/pdf/FL57STH76-2808B.pdf

Drivers being used
http://www.motioncontrolproducts.com/c2/uploads/msd542%20datasheet.pdf

Driver is currently set as 2 Microsteps.

This is how it moves and sounds and although I'm not an expert at all that metal grinding doesn't sound right

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzgFNBwLoCk

Driver is set to 4.2A and 2 Microstep.
Mach3 is set as 80 Step per mm.
Velocity and Acceleration are set as 2500.

Robin Hewitt
08-09-2008, 02:50 PM
Sounds ghastly, a coil wired back to front perhaps?

Steppers do howl a bit, sounds something like this...

http://www.robinhewitt.net/mill.wmv

Lee Roberts
08-09-2008, 03:17 PM
What wire are you using on the motors, also have you made sure you wired them correctly ?

bruce_miranda
08-09-2008, 03:27 PM
The motors came with long enough wires to reach the drivers directly so used them itself.

They are wired as per the Motion Control wiring diagram.

Blue+Red to A+
Blue/White + Red/White to A-
Green+Black to B+
Green/White + Black/White to B-

Is there a way I can figure out if the wiring is indeed correct or not ?

bruce_miranda
08-09-2008, 08:25 PM
Anything I should try?

bruce_miranda
09-09-2008, 12:11 AM
This is how the motor looks spinning at 500 Velocity and Acceleration.

Note its still jerking and not moving smoothly even at such a slow speed. Also there are brief moments when it seems like the table just glides smooth but then the grinding returns.

I held it in my hand for a bit and that I've put it on the table to show how noisy it is.