PDA

View Full Version : eazicnc v mach3



coldrain
30-01-2011, 01:51 AM
hi all
complete cnc novice, just wondered if anyone has used eazicnc, if so how does it compare to mach3, i'm thinking of building a plasma table and wondered which will suit best.
many thanks

M250cnc
30-01-2011, 06:09 AM
I have used both, no contest.

Mach3

Phil

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk

coldrain
31-01-2011, 09:37 PM
Hi M250cnc
what do you consider the main advantage of mach 3 over eazicnc, From what little i've seen on youtube mach3 seams to have a more user friendly screen.
Many thanks for any answers.

Jonathan
01-02-2011, 12:16 AM
Hi M250cnc
what do you consider the main advantage of mach 3 over eazicnc, From what little i've seen on youtube mach3 seams to have a more user friendly screen.
Many thanks for any answers.

I've not used eazicnc...and I'm not likely to.

Mach3 has a truly vast number of features, many of which you'll never use and many of which are useful. You can charge the look of the GUI quite easily. Can even get it to correct axis' for skew and control hexopod like routers if you really want to! Every few weeks/months I find something new to do with it.

ptjw7uk
01-02-2011, 10:05 AM
I use easycnc mainly because I have one of their control boxes and also it can be used from a laptop so cant really comment on mach3.
To my mind it does what is supposed to do once you get used to it!
Tried the new version of it but not decided to pay for the upgrade yet!

Peter

FatFreddie
01-02-2011, 01:49 PM
Have you considered EMC2? It's free and similar in functionality to Mach3.

M250cnc
01-02-2011, 02:15 PM
I've not used eazicnc...and I'm not likely to.

Mach3 has a truly vast number of features, many of which you'll never use and many of which are useful. You can charge the look of the GUI quite easily. Can even get it to correct axis' for skew and control hexopod like routers if you really want to! Every few weeks/months I find something new to do with it.

Couldn't say it better myself. I will add Very low user base, less than helpful vendor.


I use easycnc mainly because I have one of their control boxes and also it can be used from a laptop so cant really comment on mach3.
To my mind it does what is supposed to do once you get used to it!
Tried the new version of it but not decided to pay for the upgrade yet!

Peter

That was the reason i bought it compact ready built driver box. The drivers whistle. There are also issues with red button/offline lockups.



Have you considered EMC2? It's free and similar in functionality to Mach3.

In a lot of ways far superior to Mach3, you just need a degree in quantum physics to be able to understand it. :cry:

So basically boiling your head is better than using Eazicnc, sorry Peter

Phil

FatFreddie
01-02-2011, 02:28 PM
In a lot of ways far superior to Mach3, you just need a degree in quantum physics to be able to understand it. :cry:
Phil

If you just want a fairly plain setup, the stepconf wizard does a pretty good job of setting it all up for you. If you want to get fancy then you have to understand it a bit better but it's not that hard. My background is electronics and real time programming though so I might have a head start :whistling:

M250cnc
01-02-2011, 02:33 PM
If you just want a fairly plain setup, the stepconf wizard does a pretty good job of setting it all up for you. If you want to get fancy then you have to understand it a bit better but it's not that hard. My background is electronics and real time programming though so I might have a head start :whistling:

I have tried EMC2 it was pretty easy as you say to get a basic setup working, but there are some hardware things that are not supported and i would want more than a simple setup. I am on the mailing list, and understanding what the hell those guys are talking about is crazy for me to understand.

Phil