PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: New member from Suffolk/Essex/Cambridge

richb77
17-10-2008, 02:53 PM
Afternoon all,

As the title states i am a noob at this with what i guess is one of the most common Noob questions going :)

Some background first.

I am a Mech E/Designer with a good engineering background in everything from Military antenna to consumer electronics. Most of my time is on 3D CAE but i often escape back to the Bridgeport and colchester manual machines.

I am looking to build something for home projects and would like open source plans or similar as i cant afford the huge time resource needed to develop the kit from scratch.

I have the plan set for JoeCNC 2006 found on CNCzone but its too grand for what i want.

What i am after is the ability to machine aluminium on a bed no larger than 300 x 300 (12" X 12")

Anyone know of a set of plans that would suit?

I want to build from scratch as A) buying a Denford style mill is more expensive and B) half the fun is building something.

Budget restrictions at the moment (i say at the moment as i know once i start it will go out of the window) is approx £500 working, i have a laptop (mobile workstation capable of thrashing Solidworks). I am pretty good at scrounging so i would think the dearest parts will be the controller and motors (maybe servo and not stepper?)

First things first is the chassis/bed/framework.

Any help is grately appreciated ;)

irving2008
17-10-2008, 08:18 PM
Rich,

Welcome to the forum.

I too looked for a set of plans for a similar machine and came up with a blank. So I decided to build a small 250 x 250 machine using MDF to my own design for PCB milling and as a learning solution. I am working on a bigger design for machining ali, but I am still debating using aluminium extrusions or a welded steel frame.

I, as would many on this forum, would be interested in your thoughts, as a Mech E/D, on, and tools for, how to do structural analysis to avoid wasted build effort.

Irving...