PDA

View Full Version : New CNC Controller for Milling Machine



antsals
03-06-2011, 12:03 AM
Just taken a few pics of my new CNC controller I'm putting together. All the electronic boards, stepper drives and power supply are from Zapp Automation.

Left a little space for one of the CNC Controller cards that Zapp Automation

http://www.slidesandballscrews.com/cpu5a4e-economy-axis-controller-with-ethernet-p-601.html?cPath=64sell

but think I'm going to start with Mach 3 software first but I've not made my mind up yet.

Anyway if anyone has any comments let me know.

Ant

audioandy
03-06-2011, 10:20 AM
Looks nice and neat.

AdCNC
03-06-2011, 03:01 PM
Looks like a Tempa case that does.. very simler to mine

antsals
03-06-2011, 09:12 PM
It's a schnider electric cab. But it's just the same as rittal type cabinet.

Ant

Simon C
03-06-2011, 10:17 PM
Howmuch was the enclosure if you dont mind me asking? looks like atleast 100 quids worth. I wanted to use that type of enclosure for my drivers and BOB but they were realy expensive. ended up useing a PC tower :sad:



regards
Simon

antsals
05-06-2011, 01:20 AM
Yep it was 100 for the enclosure I got it from CPC but you can buy them from a few places. Makes it really easy to mount everything. I'm just waiting for my din terminal blocks to arrive.

Ant

John S
05-06-2011, 02:32 AM
Try these people, not found any places any cheaper.

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/CMSB504020.html

antsals
10-06-2011, 12:19 AM
Just looking at the CNC contoller card I'm going to purchase decided to go for a different card rather than running Mach3. What is a watchdog on a cnc contoller card? http://www.slidesandballscrews.com/cpu5a4e-economy-axis-controller-with-ethernet-p-601.html?cPath=64

Cheers
Ant

Gary
10-06-2011, 01:52 AM
its the Enable.

Just looking at the CNC contoller card I'm going to purchase decided to go for a different card rather than running Mach3. What is a watchdog on a cnc contoller card? http://www.slidesandballscrews.com/cpu5a4e-economy-axis-controller-with-ethernet-p-601.html?cPath=64

Cheers
Ant

AdCNC
10-06-2011, 10:56 AM
As Gary says, i have this wired up to enable and disable my servo drives, have a look here http://www.edingcnc.com/index.php?pagina=producten this is where i got mine from. direct from bert himself. Very helpful person.

John S
10-06-2011, 01:31 PM
If you are thinking about buying one of those, contact me off list.

I have a new boxed up one for sale.

antsals
11-06-2011, 10:10 AM
John S thanks for offer although I have already sorted it out.
Out of interest why are you not using it?
Ant

John S
11-06-2011, 10:49 AM
Bought it together with a load of other USB cards as part of an evaluation process.
Wasn't happy with the support from Bert at the time, don't know if it's changed and also my take on it was people wanted Mach as the front end for support and knowing where they were.

One example was homing, at the time when you went to home from somewhere in the job it moved X,Y, and Z all at the same time. If you were in a pocket the result was to smashed the tool into the side as it was moving.
We had hells own trying to explain the Bert it needed to move Z first then X and Y.

He did alter it but it was the process of getting it done that switched me off it.

antsals
13-06-2011, 12:42 AM
This has been my worry around the knowledge / support. Like you say lots are using mach3 and the network of people's knowledge is there. I'm not sure what to do although the USB / ethernet connection are so much better.

I'm guessing your using mach3 then?

Cheers
Ant

antsals
20-06-2011, 12:16 AM
Just a few more pics of current progress. Hoping to have the controller up and running within the next couple of weeks.

Ant

antsals
20-06-2011, 11:02 PM
Do you like the CNC Controller card? Had you used Mach3 at all first? Do you think the controller is worth the money?

Cheers
Ant

antsals
22-06-2011, 11:51 PM
Another couple of parts. The 25 pin units are pretty good because they allow for wiring and changing pin numbers easily. I have the the same units for the units between the breakout board and the stepper drive units.

Ant

antsals
23-06-2011, 12:23 AM
One of the pictures wasn't too clear but you can see all the wiring better in this one.

Ant

antsals
24-06-2011, 11:08 PM
http://youtu.be/ytfrhUjvWXA

Quick question.......I've just got my CPU5 Card and I have a quick question. When I measure with my multimeter between pins 14 and 23 so the spindle on-off output and ground.

I am connecting this to a relay but I'm intrested how this works because when I hit the ON button on the PC the voltage hits a perfect 6mv but when I turn the button off it blips around? Have a look at the video? Is this correct?

Cheers
Ant

antsals
27-06-2011, 12:39 AM
Done a little more work on the controller today. Hopefully I should have it moving the machine before the end of the week assuming work doesn't take over my life again!

Ant

antsals
30-06-2011, 01:08 AM
Happy days.....I got the spindle working via the inverter drive although I had to wire the signal through one of the relays on the breakout board. For some reason the inverter didn't like the signal directly from the CNC Controller.

If anyone is thinking of putting together a controller the CIB Breakout board and the CPU5 USB CNC Controller card combo seems a really good solution. This is my third controller and by far the best of all of them.

Still have to wire the stepper Motors, E-Stop and Home switches. (A job for the weekend)

One question when I shutdown the software / it crashes the spindle starts? Is there anything I can do to stop this as it could become slightly dangerous.

Cheers
Ant

antsals
14-11-2011, 12:07 AM
It's been a while sorting a few other things but back onto the the controller.

I've done a few updates and removed the breakout board (ready for a different job), I replaced with solid state relays, had a few problems wiring in them in but worked it out after a while. Bert from Eding CNC the manufacturer of the CNC controller card put me in the right direction which was a great help.

Added a quick video on You tube of the machine axis moving
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b6cq4EU6bqk, still need to put the cables in some conduit and also make a few guards for the motors....but getting there at last. Hopefully cutting metal on the machine before christmas.

4848484948504847


Cheers,
Ant

antsals
07-04-2012, 01:04 PM
I've now run my first few parts on the machine.

It's been a while but here's what I ended up with:-

> Ended up buying the majority of the kit from Zapp Automation Gary from their was a great help.
> Was going to use Mach3 software but went with the Eding CNC card. I do have to say it's brilliant.
> I've now also installed a automatic tool length setter, that again is a great inclusion.

Anyway posted a few video's on Youtube so you can see how the machine performs.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jvM-6BoEiI


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vi8eh-he9-M

Robin Hewitt
07-04-2012, 01:33 PM
What is a watchdog on a cnc contoller card?

A 'watchdog' is computer slang for a seperate timer circuit. Everytime you access the card it resets the watchdog timer. If the computer stops accessing the card the watchdog timer times out and presses the panic button.

AdCNC
07-04-2012, 09:01 PM
Antsals, ive got the same turret mill as you and have also been considering cncing this, i also have been using edings USBCNC for over a year now and i agree the software is very good and never misses a beat!
Have you any pics of the ball nut housings and how you fixed them?

Robin Hewitt
08-04-2012, 03:33 PM
Ended up buying the majority of the kit from Zapp Automation Gary from their was a great help.

Did you mention to Gary that you planned to put the motors out on stalks so they couldn't dump their excess heat in to the mill? :whistle:

John S
08-04-2012, 07:09 PM
Did you mention to Gary that you planned to put the motors out on stalks so they couldn't dump their excess heat in to the mill? :whistle:

:loyal:
I think the *design* stems from the clock makers guild, all clocks are built on pillars like that. Probably has to have a bit of give to allow the lovejoy coupling to work?