PDA

View Full Version : How deep can i cut MDF?

MrWiz73
08-06-2011, 03:46 PM
Hello

I am totally new to the CNC world. I am hopefully going to purchase my first machine next month, i have my eye on the Heiz S-1000. I am looking to produce MDF shapes and letters using 4mm, 6mm, 12mm and 18mm MDF. My question is which of these thicknesses can i cut out in one pass and how many passes would i need on the thicker stuff?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, many thanks

Sean

c cunningham
08-06-2011, 04:11 PM
totaly depends on the CNCs ability I do 2mm steps solid carbide cutter 6mm dia and quite a fast feed rate , this way you dont need a huge power spindel , when cutting MDF you shouldent get fine powder dust should be almost like a wood shaveing cutting too slowly will cause the cutter to gum up turn black and blunt quickly .
I have cut letters in two 3 mm steps for 6mm mdf but it makes the roughter cutter howel like a dog , by the way a cutter making an unhappy noise means you are doing some thing wrong! eather feed rate or RPM . I also leave about .2 or less so you dont have to worry about holding all the letters , it cleans off dead easy with a bit of sand paper

Jonathan
08-06-2011, 04:19 PM
It depends a lot on the size and rigidity of the machine you are using. A good machine will cut through 18mm MDF in one pass. I think the main problem is tool deflection - a small cutter (say 3mm) cutting all the way through 18mm MDF with a decent feedrate is going to bend and probably break. Some examples...

6mm cutter, 18mm DOC, 0.02mm deflection at 740mm/min, power 290W
8mm cutter, 18mm DOC, 0.02mm deflection at 3550mm/min, power 1.86kW
10mm cutter, 18mm DOC, 0.0122mm deflection at 4650mm/min, power 3.04kW
12mm cutter, 18mm DOC, 0.007mm deflection at 4950mm/min, power 3.88kW (that's max feedrate)