PDA

View Full Version : Chinese 1.5kw Spindles



jcb121
28-07-2011, 02:46 AM
So I may buy one of these 1.5kw spindle with VFD for 220 ish

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/water-cooled-spindle-motor-1-5kw-VFD-set-/250532291701?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a54e36475#ht_503wt_804

My question is, how do I power it? do I just hook it up to a plug and go?

I have no clue about electronics!

Web Goblin
28-07-2011, 07:17 AM
At 1.5KW you can power it directly from a 13Amp plug and it should be fine. When wiring the spindle motor to the VFD use a screened cable and make sure it is grounded at the VFD. Dont run it until you have the cooling running or you will wreck the spindle motor. Personally I like to have the cooling water running before I start the spindle and also to have it keep running for a short time after the spindle stops. I have the 2.2KW version which will be fitted to my build and I am using an old Lincoln electric welding cooler for the job. If I can manage to get back into the shop to get it finished that is!

Ian

Jonathan
28-07-2011, 12:08 PM
I got the 2.2kW one as it takes ER20 collets, so will take 1/2" cutters (up to 13mm). The 1.5kW spindles only take up to 10mm cutters ... something you may want to consider.

luke11cnc
28-07-2011, 12:14 PM
I think the 2.2kw is three phase however I did email him about this spindle 1.5kw and he confirmed it was in fact 2 phase

Jonathan is your 2.2kw 3 phase ??

James

luke11cnc
28-07-2011, 12:20 PM
oops sorry it was the 0.8 kw

here is the link
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250694854579&ssPageName=STRK:MESINDXX:IT#ht_500wt_922

jAMES

Jonathan
28-07-2011, 12:26 PM
If he confirmed it was 2-phase then he doesn't know what he's talking about...

The 0.8kW, 1.5kW and 2.2kW VFD's can both run on single phase or 3-phase. The reason this works is the current is immediately rectified and stored in capacitors... so the number of phases does not make too much difference. To run on single phase you just connect the live and neutral to any of the 3 connections.

The output of the VFD is 3-phase as the spindle is a 2 pole, 3-phase induction motor. So in a sense mine is 3-phase...

Jonathan
28-07-2011, 12:36 PM
Also, this on is marginally cheaper and with best offer perhaps significantly cheaper?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/WATER-COOLE-MOTOR-SPINDLE-0-8KW-AND-MATCHING-INVERTER-w-/220690762024?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item336231c928#ht_10569wt_1139

They do vary in quality though ... there's a good thread on CNCzone about it. Er11 collets take up to 7mm, so you'll obviously be limited to 1/4" router cutters.

luke11cnc
28-07-2011, 12:45 PM
this is the reply i received

Hello,
2 Phase 220-250v。
Thanks
Chai

- linearmotionbearings2008


James

Jonathan
28-07-2011, 12:53 PM
Hello,
2 Phase 220-250v。
Thanks
Chai


That's fine - he means single phase, two wires. I'd no doubt get it wrong if I tried to tell someone in his native language!

jcb121
28-07-2011, 12:59 PM
I really don't care about collet size! as long as it spins and chips away metal.

it's either this, a Kress or Bust for my project!

I shouldn't even be buying this :)

audioandy
28-07-2011, 01:14 PM
My two peneth I would not bother with the VFD,just get the spindle and a better VFD from the UK. Between myself and a friend we have had four of the VFD's, out of the four only one has had no issues up to yet, two never worked. The one I am using, the screen stopped working and I control mine with MACH so no button pressing, I just changed the screen from one of the other duff units.

Jonathan
28-07-2011, 01:26 PM
Have you still got the broken ones :wink:? Might be fixable and I could do with another one...

audioandy
28-07-2011, 07:20 PM
Hi Jonathan

One of them I repaired, the varistor had blown which is now running my lathe :smile: The other I had the screen from still might be around.

Next time I talk to my friend I will ask.

Andy